Cheers to Life

A friend of mine is in the hospital, fighting for her life. She is strong, and I pray that she pulls through. I have no doubt God is holding her in His loving arms right now. But a while back, she had spoken of several family members who had passed away, and had made a request: she asked several friends that when her time comes, everyone who attends her funeral must wear their most comfortable robe, PJs and slippers.

Y’all know I wouldn’t fail at honoring this request.

But it got me to thinking…. what would I want at my memorial service? I say memorial service because I wish to be cremated, at least, whatever is left after donating organs and so forth. I just want a big party with plenty of food and booze and for everyone to wear something red, and the gals to wear red lipstick, and the kids to have a petting zoo complete with goats and ponies, and maybe a llama, and a band that plays Big Band music.

A llama??

Well, yes. One of my fondest memories is driving up to Hubby’s grandparents, and passing a beautiful dairy farm. The kids would get all excited and yell “COWS, MOMMA!!!” and Hubby would say, “Not cows…LLAMAS!!!” And the kids would look again, and look at him like he was an idiot, and say, “Daddy, those are cows. Llamas have long necks.” And he would say, “Llamas drink beer???” And they would just die laughing at him.

And that’s why I would want a llama. Because the best way to celebrate someone’s life is to recall fond memories. Hubby would probably say it would be easier to just dump my ashes in a river. I would be ok with that, too.

As long as there’s a llama!!!

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not shopping for shoes. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

14 responses to “Cheers to Life

  • Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere

    I’d say that I’d avoid this problem by living forever, but the fact is that sooner or later, there wouldn’t be anyone left to play with.

  • Narima

    Llamas? That’s original – coming from you, not surprised 🙂
    I choose to be cremated myself, with Guns n’ Roses “sweet child o’ mine” blasting in the background. A grand ol celebration!

    I pray for your friend ❤

  • Queen Bee

    I want to my leftover bits and pieces to be cremated too…. not sure if I want a llama present… Do they spit? 🙂
    I went to a service where they served coffee and donuts, the guys favorite snack. I think mine will surely be open bar!
    Happy your friend has a good spirit…. Prayers

  • GuyS

    I may (or may not) be cremated. In any case I like the prop me up next to the jukebox line of thought. Open bar, tall tales, slow dancing, perhaps a bar fight…followed by more adult beverage consumption, and every one watching the sun rise together, followed by a nice breakfast…chased with a few bloody marys (or mimosa). Then everyone heads out … to their respective futures.

  • mrfixit

    I think for mine, there should be a pig roast, with extra bacon! It should be in the evening, with a fire pit, plenty of booze and beer, with a live band, and dancing. I too wish to be cremated, though if possible, it should be done viking style, set adrift on a small lake. I don’t want it to be a maudlin affair, I want it to be a celebration of life.

  • The Curtal Friar

    I’m not sure we would be able to afford any kind of sendoff in style for me. We’re probably going to be in hock after taking care of my wife’s parents.

    My father-in-law’s wish is to have his body frozen and then shot into space, on a one way trip out into the farthest reaches.

    My mother-in-law, on the other hand, doesn’t care what kind of funeral she has. She does have one definite request though. She is scared to death at the thought of coming back to consciousness and finding herself trapped in a coffin underground, so she wants one of us to make absolute sure she is dead. Her request involves someone cutting her head off and separating it from the body to make sure she’s dead before they put her in the ground.

    Probably won’t cost much to pull that off, but one of us will probably be in jail for that, and the time lost from work will probably be substantial.

    After both of them, I’ll be lucky if they can afford to cremate me and put my ashes in a ziploc bag.

  • The Curtal Friar

    Oh, and, COOL!! You have your own blog!

    Now you just need to decorate it with, uh, Sithy things. 😀

  • LC Aggie Sith

    Your wife’s parents are…interesting, CF 😉

    As to decorating it with Sithy things, I looked and found an AWESOME Sithy thing, but this is a family friendly place, so I’ll save it for H&B!!

  • Larry

    It was an awesome sithy thing. There is a farm nearby with three or four llamas.

  • melody

    I’ve read recently of three different people who knew they were dying, and dying soon, and had and attended their own funeral.

  • On Loss « Sithy Things

    […] to crush me. She helped me be a better person, and for that I am very grateful. And yes, I recall your wishes. I’m wearing my PJs and slippers, and smiling through my tears, because I know you are looking at […]

  • A Thanks for My Favorite Memory « Sithy Things

    […] 5) Driving through East Texas on the way to grandmother’s house (insert song here) and having Hubby tease the kids about llamas. […]