How to Build Man

Yes, that’s a thing. It’s actually a WP blog post about Manchester United, that was suggested for reading in the Site Admin section. I did have to read that title twice. It was a bit….ambiguous, shall we say? Manchester was abbreviated to Man. United, so you can imagine how my brain chose to read it. It did provide a chuckle, but also made me pause and reflect how sometimes grammar can make some things sound waaaaaay different.

The comma is probably the most abused punctuation mark. But periods have their share when it comes to abbreviation of formal names. Honestly, I read the title as thus:

How to Build Man

United’s Grid Layout Homepage

I mean, what?? I understood it to be two posts, one was about cyborgs (maybe??), and the other was directing me to what I presumed to be the homepage of an airline. Once I clicked on the link, I realized it was about the team’s website. Listen, I am not the sharpest machete in the shed. I admit that. I can only remind y’all that English is technically my second language and sometimes it trips me up.

Anyway, I hope that serves to give a chuckle. I will be peppering my stories and journal with more commas, as if William Shatner were dictating. Better to have too many, than too few. 😉

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not shopping for shoes. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

10 responses to “How to Build Man

Express Your Sithiness