Into Each Life…

…. a little rain must fall. So goes the saying. I’ve never taken to it. I like the rain. No, I love the rain, even tempests and hurricanes. Rain is beneficial, even when it fosters destruction. The earth blooms anew, and that which was destroyed is rebuilt in a better way, or left as is for Nature to take over. So I always thought the saying to be positive, rather than negative.

That is part of my Pollyanna attitude towards Life.

I had made certain plans to clean the flowerbeds of weeds and old mulch, and plant azaleas, lavender, and oregano. But then, the skies opened and I was forced to stay inside, watching the sheets of rain outside my bedroom window being pushed by the wind. I have to admit, I was miffed for a bit. I had plans!! But soon enough, my miffiness was quelled as I witnessed those rivulets weaving meandering paths down the pane. Much like watching fish in an aquarium, I felt the irritation melt away and be replaced by serenity. Once the rain dwindled, I was again reminded of the newness that springs forth. The petrichor in the air is like valerian, and the birds come out to bathe in the pools. It’s rather like a fairytale, only none of them are offering to clean my house.

In all, the day was spent admiring nature. I don’t think it was a fail at all. 🙂

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not shopping for shoes. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

6 responses to “Into Each Life…

  • jessho5903c467ec

    Plans are something I usually avoid without looking at the weather. During my career, the weather played such an important part of my daily activities, failing to be cautious about weather events usually led to unfortunate circumstances. I learned the hard way, and learned to relish rain-outs for the relief, and introspection, they offered. That, and some really tremendous naps were my reward for taking a day off due to rain,

  • Reiuxcat

    I don’t know if it’s the geography, but the rain always arrives late, here in the swamps of SW Arkansas.

    Petrichor, where did you learn that word? 🙂

  • Allan Rogstad

    As I had initiated chemical Armageddon upon the wetland weeds waylaying the walkway, the rain, while welcome, washed my weapons away. Wishing I’d watched the weather.