Nerd Christmas

As y’all are aware by now, I am a nerd. Established 1974, when I first watched Star Trek episodes in Spanish. That intensified when Star Wars came out, and cemented for all time when Ricardo Montalban resurrected his role of Khan Noonien Singh in Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan.

Don’t be fooled. I hate Ewoks.

Anyway, I wanted to get a black pre-lit Christmas tree for the longest time. No, not to match my soul but so I could display my space-themed ornaments, thinking the black would be outer space and the lights would be the stars. HOW AWESOME IS THAT?? But the topper….well, that was a quandary. I really wanted to get something like an exploding Alderran or the Pillars of Creation, but the ones I found were too pricey, so I made my own Death Star topper out of a styrofoam ball, felt, and pipe cleaners. It’s not to scale, but it will do until I take the time to make one with LEDs in it.

WIN_20151215_105352

Yes, I put ALL space-related ornaments on it, not just Star Wars and Star Trek, but also Battlestar Galactica and NASA. Here is the Redneck Death Star:

WIN_20151215_105332

As always, this blog is PG so keep it that way. My favorite Darth Vader ornament EVAH is flanked by two others.

WIN_20151215_105401

WIN_20151215_105417

WIN_20151215_105447

WIN_20151215_105428

Neil Armstrong flanked by Lego Stormtrooper and Lego Boba Fett, just because.

WIN_20151215_105524

It’s a bit rednecky and I love it. So far we have a Crap Tree, a vintage frosted tree, a Wine Tree, and a Nerd Tree. I would do a Dog Tree but I have a feeling that one wouldn’t last long around here, since Lenny keeps trying to take my Cantina Band off the tree 🙂

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

31 responses to “Nerd Christmas

