Finding My Happy Place For Today

Unfortunately, I have to find it without the aid of candy or wine. I already vented my spleen over at Uncivil Peasants (NSFW), and feel the need for happy thoughts because if I don’t, I may just vent something else, like a carburetor.

happy tuesday

It’s not just politics that make me want to force choke the milk carton. It’s also the lack of empathy I witness everywhere. I witness the disparaging remarks of a “pacifist” towards a soldier and wonder what happened to civility. I watch commercials showing disrespectful children sassing their parents and wonder what happened to manners (don’t get me started on the teen eating out of the cereal box and drinking out of the milk carton). I see History repeating itself while lamenting how we don’t learn from it. There is a quiz going around social media that asks “How smart are you?”. I saw it pop up on my social-site-with-faces page and saw all who took it got “PhD” level. ALL OF THEM. But it was our friend SoCal who pointed out the obvious: every question was something he learned back in elementary school. And yet that qualified one as PhD level? Is that how far education has fallen?

I picked a heck of a time to quit eating sweets. I guess yoga will have to suffice until Easter. Ok, maybe not yoga but perhaps thinking about yoga. I have my limits, and so do my tendons šŸ˜€

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

14 responses to “Finding My Happy Place For Today

  • xbradtc

    Maybe not yoga, but drinking your coffee quietly while wearing yoga pants.

  • roamingfirehydrant

    I read an interesting column (can’t find it at the moment) that said that one of the outcomes of having smaller families is lack of civility. Take China, for instance. If your dad has no siblings, and your mom has no siblings, and they are still allowed only one child, then you grow up with only parents and grandparents, no aunts, no uncles, no cousins, no siblings, no future nieces or nephews. That’s fewer people to learn to get along with and no one from your age group. That has to have an effect vs. having to share a bedroom, a bathroom, toys, etc.

    • LC Aggie Sith

      I remember reading about elephants that had been orphaned. They were unruly and destructive, but once placed with other bull elephants they learned manners and became productive with the herd. I’m seeing parallels with our society.

  • roamingfirehydrant

    And now after that downer, something to cheer you up.
    Quotes from Southern cops:
    “You don’t know how fast you were going? I guess that means I can write anything I want to on the ticket, huh?”
    “Warning! You want a warning? O.K, I’m warning you not to do that again or I’ll give you another ticket.”
    “I’m glad to hear that the Chief (of Police) is a personal friend of yours. So you know someone who can post your bail.”
    “You know, stop lights don’t come any redder than the one you just went through.”
    “If you run, you’ll only go to jail tired.”
    “You didn’t think we give pretty women tickets? You’re right, we don’t. Sign here.”
    “Yeah, we have a quota. Two more tickets and my wife gets a toaster oven.”

  • Critter

    Would you like me to juggle?

  • bbuddha

    I keep threatening to start doing yoga, i expect that we will both start at the same time šŸ™‚ You might try gardening to decompress. I’m anxiously waiting for spring time so i can get my garden going. It might be a while my garden is currently under about 4 feet of snow

  • RabidAlien

    I gave up on TV years ago, so can’t comment on the quality of commercials/programming (although I did get hooked on Walking Dead and Dr Who via Netflix), but I do listen to the radio while driving, and I’ve noticed that radio commercials are focusing more and more on the “me”: “YOU deserve…” “YOU want….” “YOU need….”. Its so self-centered its sickening.

  • scottthebadger

    A dog walks up to a farmer,salutes, and says, ” I have placed all 30 of your sheep in your sheepfold “.

    The farmer replies, ” That’s great, but I only own 28 sheep “.

    The dog looks at the farmer over his glasses, and says, ” Did you, or did you not tell me to round up your sheep”?

