Boredness

No, that’s not a word. But it describes my feelings rather well. Hubby and I embarked on a new experience called, “Let’s install hardwood floors and watch the dogs go insane”. For the most part it has been hilarious. The past two days I have kept busy cleaning and dusting as the floor experts worked. But today everything cam to a standstill, because the painter (who will be caulking and painting the baseboards) had a flat tire. And I have no idea where he is. And neither does his boss. And until they finish tonight I can’t run errands. And that means I can’t get lunch or a new air filter.

So I decided to work on a project that I had no idea I wanted to do.

In my house there is this…. hallway. I call it the Hallway of Lost Souls. Because we have a bonus room upstairs, there is a wall that the builders put up to be load-bearing. Well, this wall divides the “formal” dining room from the …… three feet to the kitchen wall. It is a useless hallway, and if I A) had the money, 2) was planning on retiring in this area and keeping the house, and iii) cared enough, I would have hired some contractor to put a support beam and get rid of the damn wall. But as it is, I just dealt with it by hanging wall art that really didn’t fit anywhere.

old hallway

There is obviously a crappy light fixture which I will replace pronto. Anyway, those prints don’t go with anything in the house. I just hung them there when we first moved in because I had no idea what to do with them. That was eight years ago. The little house is a keepsake with all our names hanging from the hearts. That also really doesn’t go there. So, I went to the garage and dug up some stuff I had: old frame, fabric, cork pieces, an old “S”, and paint. I also had a chalkboard sold “as is” at Michaels™ that had been gouged on the bottom of the board area. And I got to work. I spray painted the old frame in an heirloom white, covered  cardboard in the burlap-like fabric, painted the “S” and adhered to wrapped cardboard, and added a flower. Then I cut pieces of corkboard to fit the gouged area and adhered to the board. I found one of my Longaberger Baskets™ to hold chalk and eraser, and now I have a message center.

new hallway

And now I have less crap in my garage, all because I had boredness. Now it’s time to work on the mirrors that will go in my dining room, flanking my Wall of Light™. But that will have to wait until I change the drapes and paint the block shelves. Change is coming, oh yes it is 😀

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

6 responses to “Boredness

  • RabidAlien

    Its common knowledge in the Navy that there is nothing more dangerous than a bored Nuke. We Nukes have the knowledge, the curiosity and (for the most part) imagination, combined with a large supply of spare parts, to rig up just about anything whilst underway. From the guy who found a chunk of wood (on a submarine at sea, no less) and carved a picture frame for his wife’s photo, to the guy who turned out a full set of weights using EBGreen (ie, weapons-grade duct-tape), TDU weights, and a full pot of coffee, to the guy who showed up on watch one day with a hand-made hunting knife strapped to his belt without making any extraneous noise (no blacksmith pounding of metal on a submarine….ninja-quiet, we are!). And that doesn’t even get into the electronics we hacked together “just ‘cuz”. Sithy….I’m tempted to send you an honorary set of submarine qual pins!

    “Change is inevitable. Except from vending machines.”

  • Keith Distel

    Was worried about H&B, Soylent reminded me you were also over here. I don’t comment often, but you usually bring a smile to my face when I read your stuff. Thanks Aggie

