The Year of the Horse

It’s my year. I was born in the Year of the Horse, four cycles this year.

Quick, do the math. Done? Ok, moving on.

I have never been a fan of horses the way some people are. I think they are beautiful and graceful, and have a rather dry sense of humor. But my one encounter with horses left me scarred and frightened for life a bit wary of them. And yet Frederic Remington is one of my favorite artists, and I love the way horses are portrayed in Chinese art. The neighbor down the street has one in his garden and I keep hoping he puts it in a garage sale so I can get my hands on it.

I tend to covet weird, inconsequential things, like glass buttons and tin cans. Don’t ask.

Anyway, my dad gave me a wonderful gift this past weekend. It had been his for years, a gift from a good friend, and now it is mine.

carved horse

So now I have my very own horse to celebrate the year of my birth, even though I am Puerto Rican and Catholic and not Chinese and Buddhist. And this is the only way I will ever have a horse in this house. We already have a Rat, and Snake, and I refuse to tend a Pig.

Just as well Dragons are on the endangered list, too 😀

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

18 responses to “The Year of the Horse

