Thursday Never List

First week of school, and already I feel like I have signed enough paperwork to file an appeal to the SCOTUS. I don’t know why I was so excited for them to go back to school.

Oh right… peace and tranquillity. I can live with signing stuff for a while.

Anyway, it’s Thursday, and time for another Never List. This is a list that evolves, though, because it centers around food. I’m not talking about rare stuff like balut or haggis. I’m talking about foods you have access to eat on most occasions. There are some things that will ALWAYS stay on this list, no matter what. Some y’all will like, others you will probably ban just from the description. So, here are my top five of foods I’ll never, ever eat.

squid-ink-pasta1-1024x567

#5- Raw Oysters

Seriously, what is the attraction to that? It looks like you are ingesting an alien larva.

#4- Okra

The slime alone is enough to send warning bells through my digestive tract.

#3- Liver and Onions

Because I really don’t care for fava beans and chianti.

#2- Gumbo

Not only does it taste like dirt, it just sounds like Dumbo’s gangbanging twin.

#1- Cabbage/ Brussels Sprouts

If I wanted sulfur in my diet, I would eat rocks. The thought of ingesting either of these foods is enough to turn my stomach. I would rather shave my legs with a weedwacker than eat that stuff.

I am sure some will find my list a bit on the what-the-hades side, but I am more than sure some of the food y’all wouldn’t eat is on my list of noms πŸ˜€

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

64 responses to “Thursday Never List

  • The Queen

    Ok- food is one of my favorite subjects! On your list- I agree with liver & onions and gumbo. Okra is only acceptable if it is fried. Raw oysters are totally dependent on where I am.
    I will not eat (to the point of being a rude guest) eat mushrooms.
    Less vile but still nasty (IMHO) are olives (black and green), beets, sole and seaweed.
    Miss you!

  • roamingfirehydrant

    I like fried okra. Boiled okra is gross. I won’t eat turnip or collard greens, much to the dismay of my parents.

  • LC LtC

    Surely with you on raw oysters – they’re big slimy Llama loogies.

    Fried okra is great! But fried pencil stubs are great!

    You might enjoy liver more without having to prepare it. That’s the way I do it, several times a month, at Threadgill’s in Austin or the Bluebonnet Cafe in Marble Falls. Usually chicken livers with cream gravy. Man! If sliced beef liver, have it thin and sorta crispy, with bacon on top.

    I like gumbo, too, but only with fresh mud bugs or shrumps.

    On the leaves – bake ’em in a 400 degree oven, makes a whole ‘nother experience, even some sweetness comes through.

  • Cheapshot911

    I used to eat liver an onions because I wanted to be a good son.
    Later, I ate liver and onions to be polite to well meaning cooks.
    I’ll still eat it if there’s nothing else left on the carcass and I’m starving.
    ‘Had liver prepared a LOT of different ways,, but,, they never failed to taste like gutz.

  • hilljohnny

    eaten it all, will again. πŸ˜‰ hint on the liver, just barely cook it. tastes better medium rare.

  • Scott C Baldry

    Numbers 1 to 4…I actually like all of them. The raw oysters, I don’t know because I’ve never tried them, just hasn’t come up yet.

  • RabidAlien

    Mushrooms. Nope. Not doin it. Had some snuk in on a pizza, and it was only about two bites of what tasted like sausage and dirt before I discovered the mistake. Pizza place was promptly called.

    Tomatoes. Sorry, but I’ve seen the movie*. Tomatoes are evil (salsa is okay, cuz there’s other stuff keeping the tomatoes in line…ketchup is fine, cuz the tomatoes are dead and no longer able to cause trouble)

    Spinach. My body physically rejects the stuff, it comes out at a much higher velocity (and physical state) than it went in.

    Squash/squish/zuccini/okra. Yeah, I’m a southerner who loves his ham-hocks-n-lima-beans, but this crap never did appeal to me. Texture, maybe?

    *follow the link, kids: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0080391/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

    • LC Aggie Sith

      I like all of the above, but squash and okra. Just can’t do it.

      Had to laugh on the link, though πŸ˜€

      • RabidAlien

        Oh, and this may get me kicked out of Texas (hopefully!), but guacamole is on that list, too. First time I tried it was from a mall food court TexMex restaurant in Florida (mistake #1). Spent the rest of the weekend hurling (not going to mention which end the hurling came from….or whether it was both at the same time). Never been able to eat it, or have it on the same plate as something I AM eating, since then. Mainly due to the same results.

  • reiuxcat

    Sigh…

    Everyone has their preferences and is entitled, at least for now, what they choose.

    I always thought raw oysters was my excuse to eat horseradish and cocktail sauce on a saltine.

    Okra can be cooked slime free, without frying it.

    The only beef liver and onions I ever liked is served at Luby’s. And I cannot tell you why. I miss the days when Churches sold livers and gizzards. since they don’t sell them now, that sez a lot.

    If something you ate tastes like dirt, yer/their doing it wrong. I’d blame old dried out spices. (After all, would you rather use old powdered cumin or grind some seeds in your mocajete right before you toss it into the oil?) At least that has been my experience.

    And while I don’t like sour kraut, I adore my steamed cabbage and onions served with corned beef. A little pepper sauce (I have four to choose from, habanero, chili piquin, tabasco, and cayenne) and YUMMO!!!

    To each their own said the lady (not you!) as she kissed her cow. πŸ˜‰

  • Mitchell

    So much fail here. Raw oysters are awesome. Well, I will qualify that somewhat as some are batter (and some MUCH MUCH better). Also, fresher is better. Right off the boat & on the dock fresh is best. Slap that big ol’ loogie on a a saltine cracker, spritz it with fresh lemon juice and slather some spicy cocktail sauce on it and go to town! The best oysters in the world are Apalachicola oysters: http://www.oysterguide.com/maps/gulf-coast/apalachicola/

    Gumbo – you’ve just never had good seafood gumbo. Good seafood gumbo takes all day long to make and the flavors will absolutely blow you away. Go to Louisiana. You’ll find good gumbo there.

    Cabbage = coleslaw and good coleslaw is a salve for your soul.

    I have spoken.

    • LC Aggie Sith

      No…just NO!!

      Now, go make me a sweater. So let it be written, so let it be done πŸ˜‰

      • Mitchell

        Also, cabbage = sauerkraut. Sauerkraut + corned beef + swiss cheese + 1000 island dressing + rye bread + toastiness = Reuben sandwich = ZOMG!!!!argleblarglezargle.

        I don’t make sweaters yet.

        You gotta wonder about the first dude to ever eat an oyster. Now there was an innovative thinker. He took all the trouble to smash open what for all the world looks like a rock and said, “Hey! There’s a big ol’ slimey loogie inside this rock!”

        “I’m gonna eat it.”

  • Nicole

    Agree with everything but okra and I’m dandy with it fried. Do agree on the slimy though. Even fried, if it gets cold… yik. I have lots of things I won’t eat, though I am getting better at trying things before I say “no.” πŸ™‚

  • Azygos

    “The raw oysters, I don’t know because I’ve never tried them, just hasn’t come up yet.”

    I can tell you trying to swallow a blob of sea snot is going to bring up pretty much everything in my stomach. If you have to soak it in salsa, hot sauce, lemon etc… might as well drink from a spittoon.

    As for liver, I don’t eat anything that crawls when you drop it on the floor.

  • Lemur King

    I draw the line at certain types of brains, lungs, uteruses (uterii?), and creamed rutabaga. And fermented pork. And bugs other than lobster.

    But I loves me some Brussels sprouts.

  • Critter

    I’ve been known to eat most anything that would hold still long enough. However, mayonnaise is a tool of the devil.

  • Ogrrre

    Infidel! Okay, boiled okra is gross, but fried okra is the bomb. Liver and onions are fantastic if you don’t overcook the liver. Carmelize the onions first, then turn down the heat and add the liver. It’s even better than calf-fries. One of the quickest and easiest dishes to fix that is really good is cabbage and summer sausage. Slice the sausage, then in a stockpot brown the meat. Add a head of cabbage that has been shredded. Turn the heat down, put on the lid, and let the cabbage cook down until it is tender, stirring occasionally. Brussels sprouts or cauliflower covered in cheese sauce … mmm!
    I’m with his majesty about brains, lungs, kidneys, stomach, pancreas, etc. I also don’t do tongue. Tried it once, and that was enough. Nor do I do most legumes. Pinto beans and green beans and fresh English peas are it for the legume family. Lentils, black beans, black-eyed peas, etc., are only fit for animal feed.

  • Clete Orris

    I agree on all but gumbo and Cabbage/Brussels Sprouts.

    My hard and fast rule is no effing filter organs, nothing from the squash family (with very few exceptions), and no eyeballs.

    Otherwise I’m pretty open.

    Thinking of chocolate covered durian…

  • Mrs. Who

    Cajun food taste like dirt????? Apostasy!!!! If it’s Cajun food made anywhere but Louisiana, I guess that’s possible, and even probable. But Cajun food in New Orleans…Laissez le bon temps rouler The spices and seasonings are sheer heaven for the taste buds. Then rich New Orleans coffee with beignets for dessert!

    And fried okra is scrumptious!

  • Critter

    alligator, does in fact, taste like chicken.

  • Jess

    I’ve had a unique experience in life, since my wife is Cajun. With that has come her cooking and the unique style she learned from her mother.

    To summarize my feelings: “I always like Cajun food, until I ordered it in a restaurant.”

  • Clete Orris

    Surprised Balut and Geoduck didn’t make your list.

    But then, you have eclectic tastes. πŸ˜€

