Double Takes

This morning I had to take Son over to school for the annual ROTC Field Day. It was early so not a lot of traffic about, but plenty of people walking their dogs. And as I drove by one lady, I had to do a double take. She looked a lot like her dog. Or rather, the dog looked a lot like her. It’s a toss up. The tragedy of it is, it was a little pug. And the lady did not look all that happy, at all.

baby and dog alike

At first I thought that was just a fluke, and then I saw a man jogging with his dog. He had an English Shepherd, and his salt and pepper mane matched his dog’s. It was hypnotic to watch their hair bounce rhythmically.

But then it got me to thinking…. I have two dogs, one of which is “mine”. She is a Lab/ Staffordshire mix. The other one is a Shetland Sheepdog, also known as a Sheltie. The big dog is a sweetheart, calm and friendly and just lovable, with a short, black coat. The little dog has a wild mane of hair, and constantly barks atΒ anything, runs around for no reason, and thinks it’s a princess.

I weep in the knowledge I don’t look like my dog. But I take heart. It could be worse.

I could own one of these:

hairless-chinese-crested1

And now I need to get creme for my age spots.

Have a great Saturday! πŸ˜‰

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

11 responses to “Double Takes

