The Empress’ New Groove

I’M BACK!!!

These past two weeks have been a whirlwind here. Honestly, I had NO IDEA there was so much to do and see in this area. Probably because familiarity breeds contempt, or maybe because hey, I live here and have time to go later, or perhaps it had something to do with the fact that I just hate dealing with the “Are we there yet?” and “When are we leaving?” crap.

We get there when we get there!!!

Anyway, our friends flew back this past weekend, and I was left feeling bereft. I just didn’t know what to do with myself. Sure, I did laundry and cleaned up a bit, but after that I felt like I was wasting time if I wasn’t moving.

Weird, huh?

So today I shall be perusing blogs in the vain hope of catching up. My fingers will be typing, and that’s enough moving for today. Besides, tomorrow I get to play with my recently organized crafting stuff. I need to get into THAT groove again. I miss having my fingers stained with ink and glued together. Life is more challenging that way 😉

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

27 responses to “The Empress’ New Groove

  • Jay in Ames

    You were gone?

    *runs

    (welcome back!)

  • RabidAlien

    Welcome back! Its always amazing what you can find to do in whatever area you live in, when there are a couple of fresh perspectives along for the ride.

    Remember what the sages always say….stop and sniff the superglue or you’ll miss out on life! Or something like that.

  • SoCalOilMan

    less than an hours drive from my house I have Disneyland,Knots Berry Farm, Magic Mountain, Universal Studios, The Chinese Theater, Hollywood Bowl, a few Spanish Missions on El Camino Real, Olvera Street and a load of other things cultural or entertaining.

    Do I go? Never…unless someone come to visit.

  • Nicole

    I have been at least once to most attractions hereabouts, but I don’t go as a matter of course or with any regularity. And I both long for and dread that feeling after guests leave so I totally hear where you are coming from.

  • mrfixitou812

    *peeks in to make sure Ezma hasn’t turned Aggie into a llama*
    “Throw the lever, Cronk!!”

    😀

  • scottthebadger

    Because of the economy, most of us recent hire deputies got moved to part time, so, in order to pay the bills, I am also a Night Audit at a resort. During the summer, there is a huge flock of ducks that live on property. The chief duck in a flock of ducks is the Stud Duck. The Stud Duck of our flock is a large Mallard Drake that we call Leonard. Leonard is an actual Odd Sort Of Duck. He doesn’t waddle, he stomps from place to place. He is smart enough to realise that blacktop hold the heat better than grass does, yet stupid enough to think that that means that the best place sleep on a cool Spring night is right in the middle of Hiawatha Blvd. He is so sure of that decision, that he gets so far asleeep, that I have walked up to him, picked him up, and moved him to the shoulder without wakeing him.

    He will sometimes come stomping along around 0600, and will see his reflection in the plate glass front doors to the resort. Leonard sees an duck behaving aggressively and does not realise that it is him. Of course, on my side of the doors, I cannot see the reflection. So I will sometimes look up from my computer, and see a duck looking back at me with a look of pure hatred in his eyes, or hear a thump, and see an angry duck frantically attempting to attack me. A little off putting the first time you see it, to say the least!

    Yesterday, I bought a router, so I will have WiFi, as will my roomies. Our IT guy at the resort has told me not to worry, Leonard could install it, you just hook up the cables, and turn it on. We shall see. Just because a duck can install one, doesn’t mean a Badger can.

  • katiepede

    Hellooooooooooooooooooooooo! P.S. The Emperor’s New Groove is my FAVOURITE Disney film…. I love Kronk! xx

  • Ogrrre

    When they start that “are we there yet?” crap, just super-glue their feet to the vehicle roof, put a CD of good music (I prefer classical) to relax you, and go on about your way. They stop the “are we there yet?”, they stop any bickering and fighting they were doing in the backseat, and you can’t hear them screaming. It’s a win for you all around.

