A Place to Stick It

I use pins a lot. I use them not just for sewing, but also in my altered art. Pins are useful, needful things, aren’t they? You see them everywhere in your house, until you absolutely need one.

Then you can’t find one to save your hem.

Anyway, I decided to make a few pincushions from old tea cups for the Craft Pay-It-Forward. There are several tutorials on the internet and all are very easy to make, and have few variations. So, without further ado, here’s my simple tutorial on making teacup pincushions.

You’ll need:

  • old teacups
  • scrap fabric
  • poly fill
  • needle and thread
  • scissors
  • hot glue gun and glue sticks
  • round template, like a salad plate

First, cut out a circle of scrap fabric using your choice of template. My teacups are about two and three inches in diameter, so I chose an eight inch salad plate for the larger cup, and a six inch dessert plate for the smaller cup.

fabric circles

Next, thread your needle and sew a running stitch about a ¼ inch inside on the wrong side of the fabric. I knot the thread, because I tend to gather the fabric as I go, and that way the thread won’t slip out.

running stitch

After you complete the stitch, begin to gather the thread, tying the ends together while leaving a small opening, like so:

yo-yo circle

Now comes the fun part. First, plug in the hot glue gun. While the gun gets warm, take poly fill and start pushing it in through the small opening a little at a time. If you push too much fill, you can snap the thread and have to re-stitch all over again. Learn from my mistake. Anyway, keep stuffing it until it is nice and firm. Soon enough, you’ll have a cute little pouf.

pincushion pouf

Now, here is the tricky part. Once you are done stuffing, take the glue gun and apply glue to the bottom and lower sides of the pouf, then quickly push into the teacup.

pouf in cup

And voilá! All done! Behold the beauties!

finished pincushions

Very easy, fun and practical. Who wouldn’t love one as a gift?

I made seven of these on Sunday. It was quite therapeutic, too. I only needed five for the Craft Pay-It-Forward, but I made a few extras for me.

Because you can never have enough holders for voodoo pins 😉

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

5 responses to “A Place to Stick It

