My Empire for a Pillow

This post has been 30 years in the making. At least, it feels like it.

I have owned the same pillow since I was sixteen years old. I love my pillow. It’s latex, not feather, and I do get it dry cleaned on a regular basis, so don’t get all icky on me. Anyway, everyone tells you that you must replace your pillow every so-many-years, since pillows tend to “break”. And I have tried. Boy, have I tried….

The first replacement I bought in college. It was a feather/foam type. As soon as I lay on it, it just flattened. I was so disappointed, because the salesperson absolutely guaranteed I would sleep like a baby. Turns out I did. A colicky one.

The second time, I found a latex pillow, and I was ecstatic! It was JUST LIKE MINE!! We were in the process of moving from San Antonio to Fayetteville, NC, when I realized my pillow had been packed with all the household goods. GAH!! We went to some big name housestuff store, and I found it. It was just the right size, too: three inches at the middle thickness. That is important, as you will see later. Anyway, we drove out from Houston to Pensacola, and stayed at a La Quinta overnight. And in my hurry to pack up in the morning, I left my pillow in the hotel room!!

Some hotel staffer is sleeping well in Pensacola.

The third time was only two years ago. I decided to splurge on a memory foam pillow, because that’s all the rage and it’s supposed to conform to your head, blah, blah, blah… So I do. I spend $50 on a pillow, but I am prudent enough to keep my old one, just in case. I try it out that night, hoping against hope that it works.

And I ended up waking up feeling rather stabby. GAH!! This time, Little One ended up with the premium pillow. At least she loves that thing, so it wasn’t a waste of time or money.

I scoured all over town for latex pillows, and finally found one. Number Four was latex, and firm, and awesome. But it was four inches thick, and I ended up waking up with a crick in my neck every morning. So, Son becomes the proud owner of a very nice latex pillow, and Momma once again literally dusts off her old pillow for her use.

Fast forward to last Saturday. Hubby and I had been contemplating a new mattress set. The old one was fine, but the box spring tended to creak horribly if you so much as looked at it. So, you can let your imagination wander here. And….you can stop now. Suffice it to say, it wasn’t conducive to a good night’s sleep, either. So, we went to get a new set, and while purchasing the mattress, I spied another foam pillow. The salesman told me it was a top seller, and I tried it out. Seemed the right height, so I added it to the final purchase. I awaited its arrival in eager anticipation. FINALLY, a new pillow for me!!!

And after two nights of waking up in discomfort, I have to take it back. Short of me shaving off an inch from the pillow top, I don’t see how it can work for me. So, either Eldest will end up with it, or the store will.

All I know is, my old, trusty pillow will probably be with me forever. At least, until I get cremated. Then we will have to part, because burning latex can be toxic, and I don’t want that ending up in the sewage along with my ashes šŸ˜‰

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

30 responses to “My Empire for a Pillow

  • Cruel Wife

    I hear you, Aggie. Latex pillows. I’ll have to investigate that. I still miss this old pillow I used to have. It was originally foam, but the foam crumbled. That was a wonderful thing, because I could push, prod, and plump it into just the exact right shape and size, and it would stay there all night. Alas, it was not very washable (see “crumbly”), and eventually it had to be buried where all old pillows go…the trash. Every pillow since then has disappointed me. Either they were flat (no neck support), feather (allergic), feather-like synthetic (little beady things were still too high or wouldn’t stay where I wanted, so pillow=flat in morn), or memory foam. The memory foam actually worked…for maybe a month. Then it, too, smooshed and was too low. I’d prop it up with a towel. I wasn’t spending $35+ a month on pillows, thank you very much.

    Advance to a period where my neck was cricked EVERY DAY, and I was seeing the chiropractor regularly. I told him the pillow problem, and he told me several of his patients don’t use pillows. They use a towel. So, pillow went, towel stayed. It isn’t perfect, it isn’t soft and cushy, but I can make it fit my finicky neck. I wake up stiff fairly often, but rarely with my neck “out”. It makes traveling easy. “Hey, LK! Grab me a clean towel from the bathroom, will ya?”

  • xbradtc

    I swiped one of those little airline pillows off a plane and used it in my sleeping bag whenever I went to the field. It was very comfy. Very dirty, eventually, but very comfy.

    • LC Aggie Sith

      I know a lot of army personnel who had them. Since they were small enough, they could fit in the pack comfortably. Still have yours??

      • xbradtc

        No, once I got rid of the sleeping bag, I retired my fluffy little friend. It’s resting comfortably in some obscure landfill.

        Unlike a poncho liner, it was expendable.

        • RabidAlien

          Heh. I’ve got two or three poncho liners from my Navy days. One of those and a “CPO spread” (those thin brown sheet/blanket things they give you with your linens when you check into a barracks…at least in the Navy), and I’m nice and comfy and lightweight for camping down to around 50 degrees or so.

  • RabidAlien

    Mrs.Alien had a little micro-bead pillow (she didn’t even sleep on it, just snuggled with it) from expensive knicknack shop in the mall (not going to say a name, but it rhymes with “Brookstone”), alas it fell off the pile of luggage piled on the munchkin’s stroller last time we were down in SanAntonio. She saw some little kid running around with it and thought “hey, look, they’ve got one just like mine!” When we got home and unloaded…turned out it WAS hers. I’ve looked all over for a replacement, but alas no luck. I don’t think she’s let me forget about that yet.

    Me, I use a memory-foam pillow from expensive mattress store. Seems to be working fine, but every so often I have to flip the thing over to get the back portion up under my neck, then it’ll start flattening out after a while and the excess will smoosh towards the back again.

    I used to wake up with screaming (almost literally…I’d swing my feet out of bed, and have to sit there struggling to keep the screams down, it hurt so bad) migraines. I thought they were stress-related, then someone mentioned the memory foam pillows. I got a cheap one from Target, and boom, morning migraines were almost gone. Stress still triggers em, but now that I’m pretty much done with caffeine (I know…the horror!) and sodas, its quite rare to actually have a migraine that shuts down my entire world. Headaches, yes. Migraines, not so much anymore. I’ll have to keep an eye out for a latex pillow, see if that helps any, but I have a huge noggin (its gotta be, to support the rock between my ears), so pillows don’t seem to last long around me.

    • LC Aggie Sith

      Best place to find those beading-filled pillows is an airport. And I totally understand the “flipping” thing. I had top do it constantly with the first memory foam pillow I got!

  • Lemur King

    Yes, “grab me a towel”, “get me a root beer”, “peel me a grape”. It is all you ever hear.

    So, CW’s neck isn’t out as much as she claims at home… Hmmmm… She’s just cranky. That is enlightening.

    Cremation. Sewer? Wouldn’t you much rather be scattered out the window of a moving car along the highway?

    • LC Aggie Sith

      Better you peeling her a grape, than she peeling yours. Just sayin’ šŸ˜‰

      Well, everything ends up in the sewer. Even if I did get scattered in that manner, the rains eventually would wash the dust into the drain, and thus end up in the sewer.

      Don’t you think of these things??

  • LC LtC

    I’ve done the same quest. I lost my favorite foam pillow when the gypsy linen ladies at Williams AFB cleared my sheets from my Q room and took my pillow, too, an unauthorized act of piracy that still rankles me. I went straight to linen exchange and searched in vain.

    Nothing worked for me until, many years later, I found my old one’s mate hiding in a closet. Yeehaa! It now has an allergy cover on it, so the mites in it can just suck it.

    Also, RAIN!

  • QueenBee

    Now I want to go to bed and use my favorite pillow!

  • Mitchell

    I’m a 100% goose down pillow man. I actually work with a four pillow system: 2 at my head, 1 between my knees and 1 for the off-arm. I’m a side-sleeper so the sleep-side arm goes between the two at my head and the off-arm is cradled at the one at my stomach. The knee pillow prevents knee bones from rubbing.

    As for mattresses, I used to wake up with a nasty back ache every morning with the standard box-spring & mattress setup. Then I went ahead and sprang for a Sleep Number bed after the Parental Units got theirs and loved it. Best. Bed. Ever. It’s totally worth the price.

  • Anjin

    I have two goose down pillows I’ve had since 1982. they still work just fine. The Juju Woman has two as well. W travel with ’em when we can, and I put a bright colored pillow case on em’ so I won’t leave ’em in a hotel room or at a friends house. Good pillows are important, so are mattresses. My bed is just plain comfortable. Firm mattress, and I threw a Feather Bed on top of ’em for good measure. Very nice quilts sewed by her aunt, and one of ’em has our anniversary date sewed in a very discrete place. That little thing has saved my ass more times than I can count.

  • Teresa in Fort Worth, TX

    I’m not the only one who is all “Goldilocks” about her pillow!!!!!! šŸ˜›

