First Day of Freedo– I mean, School

Today heralds the first day of school. I was the only one excited. I can’t imagine why.

I went to get Eldest up, knowing that she wouldn’t have set her alarm for the amount of time she would need, and I was right. Her reasoning: she proved to herself this summer that she can get ready in 20 minutes.

(Insert maniacal cackle here)

Yes, I kicked her out of bed, and told her to get ready anyway. Son was out of bed by 6:30, and ready by 6:50. Eldest was STILL getting herself ready, and was out the door by…. 7:00 AM. So much for that 20 minutes.

Little One is on a different schedule, though. She still got up early, but then had a crisis: She had no PE clothes.

Me: We went shopping yesterday, and you said you didn’t need any!

LO: Well, Eldest was supposed to give me hers!

E: I did! But she can’t find the shirt.

LO: And the shorts are too big!

Me: And y’all didn’t figure this out until now??

E: Well…

LO: ….

Me: GAH!!!

But I resolved the crisis, as usual. It was a bittersweet moment when I saw her to the bus stop. But only for a moment, because peace and quiet had made a date with me back at the house, and I didn’t want to keep them waiting 😉

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

16 responses to “First Day of Freedo– I mean, School

