Gutterballs

Our first day at the lake, I was greeted with a beautiful sunrise, waves lapping gently against the rocks, and herons flying overhead. The morning was tranquil, and made perfect by my cup of coffee.

But good things don’t last forever, and so we woke the kids and asked them what they would like to do on such a beautiful day.

BOWLING!!

Uh, ok. We drove 250 miles and rented a condo ON the lake so that we could do…. what we can do at home. But the point of vacation is to have fun, and so we headed out to the bowling alley. And I must admit, it sure was fun. I had a record-breaking 42 gutterballs in three games. But I also scored some pins, and apparently I was very creative about it.

Son: (after I scored ONE pin) Hey, Mom! Now if you score another pin, and then score two, and then score three, and then score five, you’ll be on your way to doing the Fibonacci Sequence!

Me: So, my plan to establish a pattern is working.

Son: Yep.

Me: Uh huh.

Hey, it was a great excuse to explain my lack of prowess 😉

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

13 responses to “Gutterballs

  • RabidAlien

    Wow…how geeky do you have to be to combine bowling with Fibonacci sequences? LOL

    Last time we were down at Lake Conroe (Mrs.Alien’s grandma and uncle live down there), we went shopping. Woodlands or Woodlawn or something like that. Yay.

    A quick (yeah, right!) stop at Woody’s Smokehouse in Centerville for some awesome jerky makes the trip worth it, though.

  • Rob

    HAHAHAHAHAA!!!!! < this is from a guy who had a 197 average my last year of sanctioned bowling…lol

  • Lemur King

    Your son is worthy of great pride… He correctly observed that “1” appears twice in the series and has proven beyond all reasonable doubt that he could never even be suspected of being a poseur. You have done well in seeing to the young Jedi’s rearing.

    Bowling… you didn’t bring a Wii, XBox, DSi, Playstation(n), laptop or anything else along, right?

    I can’t bowl. It’s against my religion. I know… I know… you’d think being an Oregon redneck born-and-raised would exempt me on that issue but I just cannot.

    Plus I suck at it.

  • Mitchell

    Bowling is a LOT harder when you have to use the publicly available balls. It’s nigh impossible to find one that fits your hand properly so your release is almost always wrong. I got a properly fitted and drilled ball and was amazed at how much better I was right away.

    • LC Aggie Sith

      I figured as much, but I don’t like the game enough to justify getting my own ball.

      Archery, on the other hand… 😉

      • RabidAlien

        Oooooooh….archery is fun! Been years since I last nocked an arrow, though. Been thinkin about learnin how to throw and stick a knife, since catching a couple of specials on Discovery channel. Dunno how the neighbors would react to me trying my hand with an atlatl…kinda hard to aim with all those privacy fences. There *is* that annoying dog three houses down, though….

        (note the massive restraint employed in not making the obvious comments about “custom fitted balls” and such…)

      • Anjin

        I’ll go shoot arrows with you anytime. I loves me some bow and arrow stuff. Grew up with ’em. Talk about fun!

        • LC Aggie Sith

          Son and Hubby love it, too, but even they admit that I am better at it, even as weak as I am 😉

          • Anjin

            You must have a good eye. Archery is all about aiming, not strength, but you know that.

            On a somewhat related matter: I wouldn’t mind having a nice crossbow. Shot a nice one about three hundred times, ad it was a bad ride. Silent, but deadly. Those bolts (?) will just about go through anything, with no noise.

