Happy Independence Day

Today we celebrate our country’s independence from Great Britain. It was a Shot Heard ‘Round the World.

Growing up in Puerto Rico, I was taught about Christopher Columbus, but not about Benjamin Franklin. I was taught about Juan Ponce de Leon, but not about Patrick Henry. I came to live in Texas in the summer of 1976, during the Bicentennial celebrations. I asked my dad why everything was red, white, and blue, and he told me it was a very important year. We were celebrating 200 years of being a country.

He said “WE”. That is when I realized that although I was Puerto Rican, I was an American. And as I grew older, and learned about the sacrifices men made in order to break free from tyranny, I began to see this place with new eyes. So often a revolution will simply remove one bad government and replace it with another just as bad (and don’t get me started on the French Revolution!). But the American Revolution was different. It didn’t seek to substitute a government. It sought to establish a government based on principles that had been lost by centuries of neglect. The people had been lost to power, and it was time to return that power to the people.

I’m no Constitutional scholar by any stretch, and this is simply my opinion. But it seems to me that of late, the people are losing the power over the government. I can’t really articulate it well. All I know is this:

But when a long train of abuses and usurpations, pursuing invariably the same Object evinces a design to reduce them under absolute Despotism, it is their right, it is their duty, to throw off such Government, and to provide new Guards for their future security.

Our Founding Fathers wrote this on the Declaration of Independence. And they meant it. The question is if the time comes, will we mean it, too?

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

12 responses to “Happy Independence Day

  • flyoverhere

    I think that time is here already……

  • katiepede

    July the fourth be with you….. errr not sure that’s quite right, but what the hey! Have a goodun! 😀 Have a drinkypoo and have fun! xx

  • RabidAlien

    Have a safe and happy 4th! One part of me looks at everything our military forces have at their disposal, and thinks “there’s no way a popular uprising would ever work”. Then another part of me smacks that first part and says “yeah, the majority of the world said the same thing, until the Founding Fathers collectively said ”Eff that, we’re doin’ it anyway’, took on the might of the British Army (greatest and best-equipped in the world at the time), and frikkin WON.”

  • Lemur King

    So even though our Declaration says it is our duty to throw off government that is no longer ours, this same government continues to take more power and will put you away for a long time if you contemplate that very notion.

    I wonder at times what would happen if there were enough “pitchfork and torches” folks agitating to do exactly that – at what point would our military be turned towards the populace to “maintain order”? It’s not a comfortable thought.

    But that’s not what today is about. It is about the achievement of liberty and the many who have worked to preserve it. The time may come when more sacrifices are needed to get things back on track but for now, I say we celebrate with wild abandon what we still have.

    I might even go out and get a corndog. We’ll watch some fireworks. It’ll be a hoot.

    • LC Aggie Sith

      Wild abandon? The shows on all military bases were cancelled because of the water nazis’ burn ban. This after weeks of rain.

      City park here went ahead, and was threatened with fines, until the city told them that was fine, they would make it up with a carnival.

      THAT was a nice response 😉

  • Anjin

    Well said. I would like to read your print on the French Revolution. Get started.

