The Butter Incident

I love my dog. She is the sweetest, gentlest, neurotic ball I know. Even more neurotic than I am. But she makes every day funny somehow.

She also likes to test her boundaries.

A while back, I was in the kitchen making something that required fattiness. In this case, it was butter. I love baking with sweet cream unsalted butter. It makes me very happy. Anyway, I had set aside the last stick of butter on the kitchen island and was measuring the rest of the ingredients, when my dog, that loveable fuzzball, decided that HEY!!! THAT’S SWEET BUTTAH!!!

And she promptly leaned up, swiping the rest of it onto her tongue.

Courtesy of CakeSpy

I was not happy, and when Momma ain’t happy….

Needless to say, I did no baking that day. The dog also got no treats that day. She has since learned that the counters are off limits, as is the table. In retrospect, it’s pretty funny how she managed to sneak that, but I really wanted to bake whatever it was I felt like making.

Nowadays I make sure to have at least two packages of butter in the refrigerator at all times 😉

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

27 responses to “The Butter Incident

  • LC LtC

    Don’t never admit you ran out of butter. Or bacon.

    Sign o’ weakness.

  • xbradtc

    Par-kaaaaaay!

  • krow8803

    i think Layra’s dawg and yours got together

  • katiepede

    That reminds me of a story my Mum told me. When her Mum (my grandmother) was very little during the war she was playing with the butter with a knife and making patterns in it, and her Mum (my great grandmother) thought the cat had licked it. It got thrown out, but when the truth came to light she was in such trouble because butter was on ration in those days!!…..

    Anyhooo, you tale just reminded me of this one 🙂 Thank you! I hope the doggy gets let off soon! 😀 xxx

  • RabidAlien

    LOL and here I was, totally expecting a NSFW story, based on the title.

  • RoundHammer117

    You might be disappointed with me, Ms.Aggie, when I say:

    “Tis’ not buttah’ lest it bearseth’ teh salts of teh earff!”

    Warcrack, LOLspeek, Leetspeek and ebonics . . . my insides do not feel well anymore . . .

    • LC Aggie Sith

      Oh no…you were on Warcrack?? Hubby was on Evercrack 😀

      • RabidAlien

        Warcrack…FTW!!! I helped slay a dragon once…whilst holding a baby in one arm. Now, THAT’S hard-core!

        Haven’t played in a couple of years, though.

      • RoundHammer117

        Me on the warcrack . . .?
        Me on the ever or warcrack, Ms.Aggie?

        Oh HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELLLLL NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

        But my buddies back home are . . . they need an intervention.

        My best friend was supposed to write a sci-fi script for me to start drawing . . . disaster and mutiny aboard a colony ship . . . he has really good dps – whatever that is – been waiting since I enlisted . . .

        I am STILL waiting for a script, but all he has is “Dots, more dots!”

        “Okay, stop dots!”

        Made me angry with him more than once.

        He asked why I did not try it. In the Army, I had more important things to do, like put steel on target.

        When not doing that, studying the tactics concerning putting steel on target, prepping and cleaning equipment.

        Only when my responsibilities were complete, did I allow myself twenty-five minutes to write.

        That included being in theater, as well.

        You have a small portion of some of the finished work, the beginning of the conflict the Hero must answer.

        It is part of a trilogy, just got to get the rest of it typed up.

        270,000 words and counting.

        Happy Independance Day, Ms.Aggie!

        • RabidAlien

          Dude, thanks for your service, and if you ever get over to the Dallas/FortWorth area, your first beverage of choice is on me.

          One of the (few) nice things about being out at sea on subs, was standing watch. When there weren’t endless drill sets being run, or another qualification/watch-station to be studied for, it can get pretty boring on a 6-hour watch. I had a notebook that I {ahem} carried around with me to …er…. take notes in. Yeah, that’s what I used it for. LOL I ended up scribbling quite a bit in that thing. I outta dig it out again sometime and start scribbling away again. Lots of ideas in my noggin, not a lot of free time or motivation. And I’m gettin lazy.

          Speakin of digital crack…just loaded up Diablo2 (and expansion pack) on my PC again. Let the good times (and heads) roll!

        • LC Aggie Sith

          I did like what you sent. I don’t think I ever told you, for give me! Aside a few grammaticons, I was rather impressed 😀

          “Dots, more dots!”

          HAHAHAHAHA!!! I saw that, and even as a non-player I was crying from laughing so hard 😀

          • RoundHammer117

            “Okay, stop dots!”

            With regards to the HIGHLY wound but otherwise incompetent leader of the raiding party – and Orlando Bloom – I again cite the wisdom of Captain Jack Sparrow:

            “You need to find yourself a GIRL, mate.

            “Or perhaps the reason you practice three hours a day is that you already found one, and are otherwise incapable of WOOING said strumpet . . .

            “You’re not a EUNUCH, are you . . .?”

            As for grammar, I am still learning, as I cannot remember a thing from high school with this stringing of words thing together.

            And my girl is eight hundred odd miles away . . .

  • Anjin

    Before I learned how to Stretch-Proof my house when I leave him at home, I had to ensure he didn’t die. I came home one day, and he ALWAYS meets me at the door, but he wasn’t there. I’m like where the hell is he? I searched whole house…I did a patrol on the Stretchengetti…no way he could have gotten out…I was kinda flipping out…where is my doxie. I go back inside, and he knew he might be in some trouble…he was on top of the dining room table, hiding, and couldn’t get down…being very quite. Giving me the look. Anyway, he ate two sticks of butter and was big time bad sick. Sicker than when he got on another table and ate a whole box of chocolate covered cherries. Opened it, he did.

    I have learned through experience…how to make my home Stretch-Proof. I have a Stretch-Proof tag on my car keys, as a reminder. I kid you not.

    It is amazing where a doxie can “get”. They’re climbers, as well as diggers, they really are. They’re strong. Baddest dog on the planet pound for pound. Fearless. As you know, German engineered to hunt badgers.

  • Nicole

    The cats lick any butter left on the counters unattended. I can tell because of the grooves their tongues leave… I now cover the butter as it sits out to soften. 🙂

    Now I just fight with Caliban for watermelon. He’s one insistent cat when it comes to his melon.

