It’s 1985 in My House….

No, I’m not kidding.

The other day, I was going through Little One’s closet, and found leg warmers. Surprised, I asked her where she got them, and she told me they were her friend’s.

Me: So, y’all wear them for twirling practice?

LO: Oh no, it’s for fun.

Me: I bet your legs get all sweaty.

LO: (puzzled) Why? They go on the arms.

Me: …..

And Eldest? One of her favorite T-shirts is her vintage AC/DC one. I admit, I am partial to it as well, but it feels like there’s a crack in the fabric of the Universe to have your kid like one of your favorite rock bands from your teen years. I think I got five more grey hairs from that.

However, the ultimate proof of my lapse in the Time Machine?

Courtesy of Superb Wallpapers

MINECRAFT!!!

With the super 12,825-bit games the kids have in their library, so realistic that blood, sweat, and tears travel in rivulets down the thickly-veined arms of the enemy, it comes down to wanting to spend hours on an 8-bit looking game building a house?? REALLY??? This from the same kids that laughed at the Dire Straits’ Money for Nothin’ video not three weeks ago??

I have to admit, I don’t see the attraction, but then again, I don’t play videogames. But it’s a bit freaky to have your husband chomping on the bit to go bump the kids off so he can have his turn. Or have him wake up at o-light-thirty on a Saturday to go play it. Yes, he is playing it as I type. And woke up the kids to help him out with creepers or some such thing.

Anyway, time for me to get my day started. I better go find my Valley Girl soundtrack and get my Wayfarers on, baby! πŸ˜‰

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

18 responses to “It’s 1985 in My House….

  • roamingfirehydrant

    it feels like there’s a crack in the fabric of the Universe to have your kid like one of your favorite rock bands from your teen years.

    I had to laugh at the car ad featuring the family singing “Crazy Train”. My mom, God rest her soul, dutifully followed Jerry Falwell’s orders and destroyed my Black Sabbath tapes when I was in high school. Now heavy metal music that was gonna send yer kids to hell is like Muzak.

  • Lemur King

    I have many friends who are Minecraft wodows/ers… It is a simple looking game with a huge amount of complexity. It is a nice change from the “see the pores in their skin” realism of games now. In fact it terrifies me and I refuse to touch it, because it has all the addictive qualities of the games that hook people hard.

    I am a Skyrim addict although it is nowhere near as bad as back in the days of Planescape:Torment.

    Such inner strength to admit that your kids mocked Money for Nothing… You are a pillar of basalt.

    Have a great weekend!

    • LC Aggie Sith

      Pillar of Basalt… there is no better pun than that.

      Is it a pun? Play on words? Whatever. It is CLASSIC.

      You know, you can d/l a free Minecraft game on your iPad… πŸ˜‰

  • RoundHammer117

    Hot summer streets and the pavements are burning, I sit around
    Trying to smile but the air is so heavy and dry
    Strange voices are sayin’
    “Oh, what did they say?”
    Things I can’t understand
    It’s too close for comfort this heat has got right out of hand . . .

    It’s a cruel . . . cruel . . . cruel summer
    Leaving me here on my own
    It’s a cruel . . . it’s a cruel . . . cruel summer
    Now that you’ve gone . . .

    And here I thought “The Eightiesβ„’ was Where The Future was Supposed to Happen” . . . virtual reality, wearable computers, glasses with heads-up displays, handheld video phones, colonies on the Moon and Mars . . . getting better with each year . . . all leading up to The Year 2000!β„’

    Instead, we get communists and fascists on capital hill, NASA is now a haji handjob club, “comedians” who think idiot manchild yelling and screaming IS the punchline, and video games that involve blockheads running around with pick-axes hitting other block . . . heads . . .

    HEY!

    This is NOT The Future I Ordered!β„’

    I KEPT the receipt! I want my money back . . .!

  • katiepede

    Streets of Rage! Woooooo Seeeeeegaaaaaa! x

  • flujan

    That was some funny shizzz… You are 2 much! Looks like you may need to take them to see Rock of Ages?? Hahahaaa… πŸ™‚

  • mrfixitou812

    My boy loves Minecraft, and Terraria ( another 8-bit craptastic game). While I do consider myself a gamer, I cannot seriousely fathom why anyone would want to play a “new” game that sports 30 year old graphics. One of teh boy’s fav things about it though is all the different mods for it. Meh, give me a good FPS, or Skyrim (it’s my addiction… I am powerless to ignore it’s Siren call). (All bets are off though on Nov 6th, when I pick up my preordered Limited Edition Halo4, AFTER voting of course…)

    Oh, and ThinkGeek.com has a few gift ideas for your hardcore MineCraft-er. πŸ˜€

