68 Years Ago Today

I have full confidence in your courage, devotion to duty and skill in battle. We will accept nothing less than full victory!–
Dwight D. Eisenhower, June 6, 1944

I regret never taking the opportunity to visit Normandy while stationed in Germany. I did get to visit the  Luxembourg American Cemetery and Memorial near the village of Hamm in Luxembourg. The cemetery was established in December, 1944, by the U.S. Third Army during the Ardennes Offensive. General George S. Patton is buried there. Walking alongside the crosses, listening to the beauty, it felt as if Time was waiting for something. I think it still is.

These men had their victory. I pray we have in our spirit the same abilities to achieve our own.

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

17 responses to “68 Years Ago Today

  • RabidAlien

    Amen. Never been to Europe, but I do regret not getting to more of the historical sites while stationed at Pearl Harbor (although, in my defense, I actually LIVED in barracks that were there during the bombing, and did go to the Arizona Memorial several times). Oh, well, lots of things I’d do differently if I could go back with the knowledge and experience I have now. But I totally agree with your last statement. Its a constant question I have running through my head, and the more I study history, the louder that question gets.

    • LC Aggie Sith

      We were lucky to get a year in Hawaii. Got to see a lot, and the U.S.S. Arizona still haunts me. And we’ve been to those barracks, too!

      • RabidAlien

        You can still see bunkers built into the hillsides and on top of ridges around the island. I’ve hiked up to a few of those. Lots of wreckage still up in some of the mountains, various planes that have hit hillsides on takeoff from Hickham or were shot down during the battle. I think I’d appreciate it all more, now.

        • LC Aggie Sith

          When we were there in ’95 we did get to see the hillsides dotted with bunkers. I wouldn’t mind hiking around that area, looking for history.

          • RabidAlien

            Heh. My boat changed home-ports to Pearl in ’95. What a small world!

            The best place (and safest…hiking in Hawaii can be dangerous at the best of times, and if you go off-trail, you’re REALLY taking your life in your own hands) to see old fortifications is around the eastern side of the island, past the the beach where “From Here To Eternity”‘s beach-scene was filmed. There’s a lighthouse at Makapu’u (“Ma-ka-poo”) Point…the lighthouse is “officially” gated off, but a little bit of scrambling will get you past the fence. There are a lot of old bunkers and fortifications up in that area, though, and no jungles to hide unexpected drop-offs. Last time I was there, though, the insides were covered in graffiti.

          • LC Aggie Sith

            HAHAHA!!! I collect lighthouses, so Makapu’u was one of our *ahem* points of interest 😀

  • RoundHammer117

    Posted this on Mr.Brad’s Bring the Heat, Bring the Stupid earlier this morning, Ms.Aggie:

    LIGOPOP – Little Groups Of Pissed-Off Paratroopers

    Also refered to as LGOPs/LGPs – Little Goups Of Paratroopers

    Similar to LGPOI/LGPI – Little Groups of Pissed-Off Infantry

    A battlefield phenomenon that can happen with even the most exhaustively thorough invasion plans.

    It inevitably involves the demise of this plan, due to any number of factors, resulting in a most terrifying creation in the battlespace. In the most basic form, the LIGOPOP is a small group American Parachute Infantry, numbering from one to, in rare cases, as many as twenty. With their Sticks scattered from the jump, they are lost, cold, tired, likely hungry, but well-trained, determined and armed to the teeth.

    However, they are seriously lacking in adult supervision. Collectively, they remember the Commander’s intent with words to the effect of: “Once you hit the ground, move with all due haste towards the sounds of battle. Without hesitation, kill anyone and everyone who is an armed combatant not dressed like you.”

    Happily, they go about their day’s work . . .

    It is that attitude of the American fighting man, born of a culture that, in its core, prizes liberty and personal sovereignty above all else, that wins against human evil. This is the attitude that goes forward towards the sound of the guns when everyone else flees. Regardless if they are scared.

    Sadly today, those that are always afraid, inclined to flee, appease, or just surrender are the ones making decisions. Both on Capital Hill AND at The Pentagon.

    Some are clearly on the other side, even if they were the Sixtieth Speaker of The House . . .or recently deceased Representative from Pennsylvania.

    Or higher.

    Despite all of that, despite their meddling, we still win. It is why they hate us, as they are Americans in name only

    My Muse told me this after her heart decided she should love me: “You did not become the man you are because you joined the Army. You joined the Army because of the man you are.”

    I took leave in Great Britain in time for the memorial celebrations on the Sixth of June. I was privledged to speak with the Old Warriors who moved with all due haste towards the sounds of battle. I also spoke with my contemproaries. They recognized me, despite effecting a good disguise among the civilians, old Veterans know those who have followed in their footsteps. They were encouraged that I had volunteered after finishing college, allaying some of their fears about Americans having turned soft and lazy.

    It is due to men and women like this, that the Republic will indeed endure.

    • LC Aggie Sith

      Americans in name only

      That’s very apt, indeed. And your Muse is not only beautiful on the outside, but inside as well 🙂

    • LC LtC

      Well put. Each American under arms is, potentially and often in fact, a fighting force, unlike those who serve slave societies. And we keep producing patriots like this.
      The culture is not in decline, but those who most often tell our story are. Each generation can be ‘the greatest’, given a big enough challenge.

      • LC Aggie Sith

        We do, but sometimes it feels like the “Me” generation is winning.

        • LC LtC

          I feared so, too. We had been told that we just didn’t have it any longer. But look what our boys and girls have done in the last 20 years.

          Seems each generation deplores those following. I think we can take heart.

  • Anjin

    My Uncle got off a boat just like that on June 6th, 1944. He lived to tell about it. He visited Normandy under less than ideal circumstances, to say the least.

  • John D

    Thanks for the reminder, Aggie. Google didn’t even bother to mark the occasion. Instead they elected to commemorate the anniversary of the first drive-in movie theater. Nice, huh?

    Also, June 4-7 marks the 70th anniversary of the Battle of Midway, which turned the tide in the war in the Pacific.

  • The Real Dave

    I actually did a post commemorating the anniversary of the Battle of Midway, but totally forgot about D-Day two days later. Shame on me.

