Curveballs When Least Expected

Normally, I have a post by 9 AM every morning. Lately I have been a bit preoccupied with other stuff around here. Kids are fine, and Hubby is fine. I thank the Good Lord for that. But sometimes Life, Fate, whatever it is, tends to throw a curveball to see if I’m paying attention.

Last week I found a hard nodule in the upper right pectoral milk dispensing device. No, not the one that was *ahem* bitten by my neighbor’s dog. The other one. Anyway, I was very frightened, and also very angry. But the anger was directed at myself. I know to check myself for these eventualities, but had neglected to do so for several months. My last mammogram had been clear and just fine and dandy, so I slacked off.

That is unacceptable. One simply cannot take chances at my age that things will be just fine. And the worst part is actually having close friends who are in treatment for breast cancer. I was lucky it was cystic. I have no excuse for my laziness, but I do hope that this inspires others to be more careful, and to check themselves often. We all get one shot at living on this rock, and we should take care to make sure we live it to the best of our ability.

There will always be curveballs. The trick is to plant your feet, watch it coming at you, and SWING!!!!

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

31 responses to “Curveballs When Least Expected

