Fate is Fickle, and She Laughs A Lot

It never fails….

Yesterday started really well. I was cleaning, getting the house ready for a visit from The Nomstress and her family. SQUEEE!!! Anyway, I was in the groove, moving along, and getting stuff done, when there was a knock on the door. It was the Lawnmower Manโ„ข, but not to collect payment. Turns out while mowing the front lawn, the mower kicked up a small rock with enough force to take out a van window.

My first thought was, thank goodness no one was hurt. The next thought? “OMIGAWD!! WHAT DO I DO NOW???” But I calmed down, talked to him, and agreed on a payment plan, called my insurance, and arranged for replacing and clean up.

Unfortunately, I spent two hours in the hot Texas sun cleaning and picking glass out of the lawn, instead of getting their room ready in the cool comfort of my home. Several cuts and a nice red face later, I managed to finish my chores prior to their arrival, but only just. I want to think Fate is done playing with me, but I get the feeling she’s found a perfect target for her mirth ๐Ÿ˜‰

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

5 responses to “Fate is Fickle, and She Laughs A Lot

  • RabidAlien

    Fate….she is a vindictive little weasle.

  • LC LtC

    Think of it as having been another ‘opportunity to excel.’ ๐Ÿ˜€

  • Lemur King

    Fate is a bitch, thrice-over.

    But, on the bright side you got your vitamin D quota for the day and an excuse to mix up some Sangria…

  • LC Aggie Sith

    I sure got Vitamin D, but no sangria. I tend to stay sober when kids are around, and they stayed up waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay late ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Anjin

    I was driving down the road once, doing about sixty, when I took a golf ball to the windshield. Shattered it and I damn near wrecked. I immediately stopped, couldn’t see very well, and to my surprise, the golfer came over and apologized, Said he was having problems pushing his drives. I said, I guess so. No big deal, he was a nice guy, paid me cash for a new windshield. Heck, we even went and had a few beers together. There are some honest people in this world.

