Feeling Pretty

When Eldest was very young, she liked to wear pretty things. Like all girls do. We’re talking flowers in her hair, dresses, frills, the works. I loved to take her shopping and dress her up. It was like having my own living doll. Which was awesome, because most of my dolls were Barbies that I bent in half to make into “guns”.

Then Hubby decided to take over. And the feminine little girl transmogrified into a snake-charming, target-killing, bug-loving, dirt-digging tomboy who, like her father, preferred the comfort of black clothing and jeans. My sphere of influence shrank into a miniscule ring the size of a penny almost overnight. I was crushed, but hey! At least I had Little One still in my so-called grip.That lasted…oh, about two weeks. Once she saw that Eldest had her own unique style, she too, was done with me.

I just gave up...

So, imagine my surprise when Eldest asks me to take her shopping for new clothes. Now, normally I try to instill a bit of influence over what my kids wear. I am adamant about modesty, but have pretty much given up on the whole feminine thing with the girls, since every time I would try to get them in a dress I would get the inevitable eye roll accompanied by the always popular, “Moooom!!!

Eldest: Mom, can you take me clothes shopping?

Me: Do you need jeans again??

Eldest: I want a new dress.

Me: …..

Eldest: Maybe some pretty tops to wear at school.

Me: You mean in other colors besides black, grey, or more black?

Eldest: *rolls eyes* Yes…

Me: LET’S GO!!!!!!!!

So, a dress, some tops, and heels later, she is enjoying her new look.

I don’t know how long it will last, but I will be enjoying it the whole time!! šŸ˜€

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

12 responses to “Feeling Pretty

  • xbradtc

    There’s no reason she can’t be a gun toting, dirt grubbing tomboy who cleans up nicely.

    Just make sure you don’t decided to “prettyfy” your son. A kilt is one thing, a dress is another matter.

  • Lizard

    Aggie I hate to say this, but it there a boy involved? Sorry I just had to go there.

  • The Queen

    I was thinking what Lizard just said! šŸ™‚

  • LC Aggie Sith

    Oh, I’m sure there’s a boy involved šŸ˜€

  • GuyS

    A machette toteing mama doesn’t hurt matters either.

    Eldest bf: Your dad’s not home? Phew, than all I have to deal with is your mom!

    Eldest: Yeah, you can meet her right after we get in the house ….she’s in the kitchen … sharpening her machette!!

    Eldest’s bf: *gulp!!*

  • Lizard

    You know my ex-college bf was worried because both my brothers and a few friends were going to be in town for the weekend the week we broke up(did I mention my brothers and their friends were former football players). Anyway I just looked at him and said I would be more worried about my sister-in-law, I can control my brothers and the guys but well you are on your own with her.
    He decided to go home for the weekend rather than chance seeing her at the weekend events.

    I have always said dad’s and brothers can only scare so much but mom’s, aunts and sisters will follow-through and rarely give you much of a warning.

    • beasn

      http://www.potw.org/archive/potw96.html

      …”But the Woman that God gave him, every fibre of her frame
      Proves her launched for one sole issue, armed and engined for the same;
      And to serve that single issue, lest the generations fail,
      The female of the species must be deadlier than the male. “…..

