On Appreciation

Sometimes we fall short of it. I know I have, many times. I have been a not-so-appreciative wife. I always try to see the upside of things, glass is half full, silver lining, etc. But lately I have been morose and down about not having Hubby home. It shows when I snap at one kid for not rinsing out a glass, or when I get impatient waiting for them to do some small chore. I am so used to having some sort of communication with Hubby everyday, that when I don’t, I immediately begin to worry.

And worry sometimes leads to resentment.

I know he is in a really tough spot, both figuratively and literally. His absence here has made me appreciate how much I took him for granted, and how much I really need him. I try not to resent the fact that he extended due to unforeseen circumstances, all of which I understand. But logic doesn’t help me much when I sit at home alone waiting for a text or a call. It doesn’t help me when I read the news. So, I have to shake this feeling off, and be more compassionate about his worries, and show him how much I appreciate the sacrifices he makes for me and the kids.

Counting down the days may help, but so will counting my blessings.

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

14 responses to “On Appreciation

  • Lizard

    I appreciate the sacrifices that you and your kids have made so that your hubby can serve.
    I learned back in college that we have to honor and thank the wives and family of those that serve to keep the rest of us safe.

    http://www.quotehug.com/index.html

  • SOYLENT GREEN

    Hang in there kid. Tell Hubby thanks for us.
    And look on the bright side…it’s Sunday, you can ignore your Lenten fast today.
    Mmmmmmm, chocolate.

  • mrfixitou812

    May God bless you and your family for your sacrifice, and your husband for his sacrifice, for the rest of us. Thank You! and Thank him!

  • Reiuxcat

    Thank you all, Aggie, Hubby, and kids for your service.

    I’m a military brat from viet nam times. I know it’s not easy at all when the man of the house is away. (hugs) y’all.

  • Mrs. Who

    The military wife, without a doubt, is the hardest job in the armed forces. Thank you for doing it. Without women like you, our country would face far more onerous times.

    God of all goodness,
    Look with love on those who wait
    for the safe return of their loved ones
    who serve in the armed forces of their country.
    In faith and hope, we turn to you for comfort.
    Grant that we may trust in your mercy
    and send an angel to sustain us as we await their safe return.
    We ask this through Christ our Lord.
    Amen.

  • TerribleTroy

    Ah….and what is the foundation emotion that drives all the other emotions?

    LOVE. Consider yourself blessed. Not everyone is lucky enough to have what you have in that arena. Dont let the negative emotions that derive from the ultimate positive emotion become the focus or drive you to distraction.

    Time to SUCK IT UP TROOP. Finish this race strong. Time to kick this deployments ass. Nothing can beat you except you.

    (and all that other good hoowah shit! : )

  • GuyS

    What Troy said!!! And from the other side of the marital coin, knowing you are loved and needed (and hearing same) is more of a morale booster than you may know. Gives the fella on the other end all sorts of incentive to ease into the “man of the house” slot when he returns.

    May you both have the patients and understanding to make the return transition for you both, as smooth as possible.

  • LC Aggie Sith

    Thank you all, for the lovely thoughts and prayers. Y’all have made my week 🙂

  • Nicole

    I understand how hard it must be. Things will turn out okay, gal. He’ll be home before you know it. Stick in there.

  • Yabu

    Behind every good man, is a good woman…never forget that. Behind every good woman, is a good man…never forget that either.

    Just sayin’

  • The Curtal Friar

    Thanks to you and your husband, and God bless both of you for your service.

    I’ll remember y’all in my prayers, that God comfort and strengthen you during this time.

  • Azygos

    Aggie,

    May the Holy Spirit comfort you, your hubby and kidlets while you are separated..

    In Christs name we pray.

    Amen

