Feeling Blue, and Loving It!

A few weeks ago, the Lawnmower Man came by to get the lawn ready for spring. He ended up having to actually MOW the lawn, because the weather had been fooling it into growing.

Anyway, he has a new guy on his crew. A new guy that apparently is from another state, or another planet, because he decided that my bluebonnets are weeds and must be eradicated from my flower beds!!!

Me: Holy…. why did you cut down the bluebonnets??

NG: Uh, well…they are weeds, ma’am.

Me: NOT IN TEXAS!

NG: Oh, well, I’m not familiar with that.

Me: Where are you from??

NG: California, ma’am.

Me: (smiling) Well, that explains a lot.

After I calmed down I proceeded to show him where the bluebonnets grow in my yard, and told him they were off limits until they seeded. He apologized and even offered to get new seeds for me, but I declined, thinking this year would be the Year Without Blue. But lo and behold, my bluebonnets came back!!

Pay no attention to the other weeds.

They cannot be beaten!!

I wish the rest of the weeds could be, though 😉

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

6 responses to “Feeling Blue, and Loving It!

  • Mrs. Who

    I still know the Bluebonnet song from when I taught in Texas. And I know how to make a picture of bluebonnets with popcorn and tempera. And I *love* ‘The Legend of the Bluebonnet’ by Tomie dePaola.

  • Lizard

    Aggie you showed great restraint in not kicking his CA dumbass.

  • SOYLENT GREEN

    My whole yard is weeds. Saves on hiring lawn guys. 😉

  • RabidAlien

    ‘Bout the only thing that grows in my yard anymore are weeds. Still waiting for them to sprout those “dollars” everyone’s talkin about. Gonna have to get out later this evening and throw down some weed and bug killer, then water a bit. Darn Texas and its distinct lack of winter….

  • Larry

    This is the only place on Earth bluebonnets grow…

  • David

    “Pay no attention to the other weeds.”

    No, no, no, no, no, no, no!!! That is simply “alternative ground cover.” Getcherself some “yard vine” and low-growing mint and you’ll be all set for a twice-a-year mowing, if that.

    🙂

