When It Rains….

This past weekend, Eldest informed me that the battery in her laptop needs to be replaced. That’s nothing unusual, since the battery in my laptop has needed replacing for a long time now. But yesterday Son informed me that the kids’ computer no longer reads discs or memory sticks.

So now it seems certain tech thingies can’t wait for Hubby to get home. I have been wanting to upgrade the kids’ computer for a while, but Hubby is bringing the one he is using back, so I’m not sure if I should go ahead and get a new CPU, and install the other PC in the main reading area.

Of course, Son is all for a new PC in his room, where he thinks he can limit access to his sisters. And Little One is all about having her very own laptop in her room. That won’t happen for a few years, though. The gnashing of teeth will continue unabated until then, I’m sure. I swear, this house is fast becoming a computer and videogame system graveyard. I just wonder if there will be enough room for a new iPad 😉

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

10 responses to “When It Rains….

  • Lemur King

    You absolutely need an iPad. You can blog from it, check e:mail, play tunes, play “Angry Birds”, store recipes, carry maps with you. Calculator, calendars, video, skype, etc. Apple is a bit draconian with respect to music and e-books, however, so be aware of that.

    It majorly sucks for cameras. Apple really had conjugal relations with the proverbial canine with those cameras. Two crappy cameras in one device do not equal one good one – not even remotely.

    Wait for the iPad three if you can. The screen rez is supposed to be higher and it sounds like there’s recognition of the crappy cameras.

    Who knows… might there even be a voodoo doll app?

  • flyoverhere

    I know what you mean, I have an electronic graveyard in my attic…..

  • Purple Raider

    My son is moping around the house, whining about an upgrade for his computer. As I am not as up to speed as I would like, I told him that it would cost boo-coo bucks.

    He’s really driving me up the proverbial wall. Any suggestions about upgrading an athlon xp 2000+, or is he (and me) screwed?

  • LC LtC

    I recommend that you wait until you are back on caffeine and chocolate before making these life altering decisions.

    Why? Be-CAUSE you mentioned getting an iPad. For you, that’s like buying a ten pack of Burnt Orange hankies. I mean, you’ll be forgiven for breaking Lenten vows. But an iPad? (I love mine!)

    Thine soul is at stake! You will not survive as a hipster doofus. And we love you.

  • John D

    Wow, two computer issues at once. Sounds like my house, where:

    1. Everything breaks at the same time.

    2. Said breakage occurs at the worst possible time, financially.

    This has caused considerable discomfort to me, but has been quite beneficial to certain credit card companies whose names I take in vain on a regular basis. 😉

    On the bright side, computers are dirt cheap these days. A laptop that’s better than mine costs about half what mine did in 2007, and a third what I paid for my fist desk top (with a 133 MHz processor and a 1.2 GB hard drive!!!) back in 1997.

  • Mr. Bingley

    We told Daughter NO to a computer or TV in her room…it’s fun being evil sometimes.

  • Yabu

    Bad Bad Juju Computer Support – I’ve also used a 12 ga. before.

    http://badbadjuju.com/2011/07/yabus-computer-support/

  • The Queen

    Buttercup has no tv. She has a laptop, but it doesn’t go in her room. She uses it at the kitchen table or in the living room. I would be lost if I had to make techno decisions on my own….

