Why-Oh-Gee-Ay: YOGA!!

As most of you know, I am not the most active gal around. I hate exercise. Well, I hate running. I hate doing the stair machine. Elliptical is the devil’s work. You get my drift. Even Sweating to the Oldies was a bit too hectic for me. I used to have a membership in a gym a long time ago, and while it was nice to get away for a while, I always felt intimidated by the people working out. It seemed to me like I was crashing a Gold’s Gym commercial.

But I’m growing older, and I’m starting to feel the aches and pains that come with the grey and the wrinkles. Several friends have suggested I try Yoga. Now, I’m in no shape to be twisted like a pretzel so that I can achieve inner peace. I have balked at trying it because I don’t have elastic ligaments and don’t relish the thought of trying to do a Chinese split or bend over backwards to touch my toes with my nose. However, my new friend Elizabeth (who photographed me for the TRD) is getting her certification as a Yoga instructor, and it just seems like Fate is pointing me in that direction. Either that, or this Lent thing is really playing havoc with my head.

So, I think I will try Yoga, with the possibility of either becoming very fit and flexible (SHUT. UP!!), or relegating myself to Ripley’s Believe It or Not Museum as the world’s only living pretzel.

I’m hoping for the former. But the latter could bring fame and fortune. It’s a toss up 😉

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

12 responses to “Why-Oh-Gee-Ay: YOGA!!

  • Tiberius

    Pics or it didn’t happen 😉

  • John D

    I’ve never done Yoga, but from what I understand, the instructor can help you tailor the moves to your fitness level. I’ve fallen off the workout wagon, myself. Been very inconsistent since the holidays. Just coincidentally, I hit the “reset” button this morning and started working out again today. We’ll see how long that lasts.

  • B.C.

    Darn. Tiberius beat me to it. 😀

    “Exercise” is a four-letter word. (Or at least it should be.)

  • LC Aggie Sith

    I will have pics taken. IF I do this. And IF I can submit them to Ripley’s 😉

  • Lemur King

    Either that, or this Lent thing is really playing havoc with my head.

    It’s playing with your head like a drunk kitten.

    That’s the problem with quitting chocolate or beer cold turkey, sometimes they explode, sometimes they implode… it’s never pretty.

    Tae Bo comes next if this follows the natural progression.

    Tiberius, you are a genius. Aggie, in the name of always laughing at ones’ self, this would make a great pictorial Mockumentary – all sorts of bizarre yoga poses – Couch Lotus, Refrigerator Pose, Half-Crazy Posture. You could make a video sequence of the images to some trance music and you could be viral. Ask Mitchell for some trance music, he’s got a vast liberry of such sounds.

    Remember, I’m so out of shape due to forced convalescence that there are Flabalanche pickets all around me.

  • SOYLENT GREEN

    No, no, no. “Living” pretzels don’t go to Ripley’s–that’s for dead pretzels.

    Ringling Bros.–that’s where the money is. 😉

  • flyoverhere

    I have tried yoga. Once I got myself semi-contorted into a pose (don’t know what else to call it) I found that either a muscle spasm, a nose itch or boredom would set in quickly. Walking bores me, running and aerobics give me shin splints, I have no rhythm so dancing to the oldies is out. I do like working in my yard and I love to mow as long as it isn’t too hot or too cold. I am a hopeless case, LOL!

  • David

    Yoga must work. Why, it was THE recommended remedy for stressed-out guards at Nazi death camps during WWII…

  • Yabu

    You should give the soft version of Tai Chi a look see. Seriously, can’t hurt. I know several woman who chose it over Yoga.

  • TerribleTroy

    I vote Tai Chi. Very yoga like but if you speed up certain motions you get some basic self defense. I also like the fact that you aren’t forced to loiter in a set position for extended periods….but Yoga is good also. Anything that keeps you moving…..a object in motion tends to stay in motion….yada yada, yada……..

  • Nomstress

    Your old friend Elizabeth rocks the yoga, too. I plan to still be touching my toes in another 30 years!! 😛

    It’s not about the asana..it’s about getting there. That’s why they call it practice…

