The Great Purge

And so it begins. Winter is here, so the calendar tells me, and time for me to start getting rid of the accumulated junk around here. That’s what Hubby calls it. I tend to have a tough time getting rid of stuff. Unfortunately, the kids tend to take after me in that respect. Oh, I’m not a hoarder by any stretch. And if I’m going to own up to it, so is Hubby, since a LOT of the stuff in the garage is his.

The worst part about going through stuff is the memories. Most people see that as a wonderful thing, but I don’t. I tend to remember everything, or at least, more than most people, and going through stuff tends to set off an avalanche of emotions for which sometimes I am not prepared. The other day I found a little hat that Eldest was fond of wearing when she was only a year old, and I had a really, really tough time placing it in the donation pile. All I kept seeing was Eldest walking around wearing the hat and smiling because she had learned to put it on herself.

I have to remind myself that these are just things. Some things I can never give away, no matter what. But I know that sometimes the memory is enough, and I need to learn to let go eventually. I’m just not sure that’s today šŸ˜‰

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

7 responses to “The Great Purge

  • Julie O'Keefe Yost

    Totally embrace this entire sentiment….love to purge / clean…but I, too, struggle with the whole “but it SO reminds me of”….I have an uber-organized friend who deals with that by taking a picture of said memoryfilled item, keeps that in a little memory book, and gives the THING away. great idea, huh?! šŸ™‚ wonder if I’ll ever use that idea…;)
    be well, my organizing friend! J

    • Jay in Ames

      Love that idea. I’ve been doing that with equipment manuals that I can’t find online, and packaging instructions.

      I’m envisioning a virtual tour of the house, with links to all the pictures of the items. Nice!

  • Yabu

    I lost EVERYTHING in a house fire once. I was thirty. I mean everything, burned my balls trying to escape with my life, but I did heal just fine…although I needed to wear something similar to a kilt for a while. I was lucky to live through it. That event caused me to hoard. I have a hard time letting go of stuff, but we had a garage sale and donation last fall. It wasn’t so bad. Fortunately, like you, I have a good memory. I can close my eyes and remember and feel all of it, and that’s really all that matters. It took me a long time to understand “it’s just stuff”.

  • Spad13

    But Aggie just think of the joy of the young mother who buys it for her eldest, who is smiling because she can put it on herself.

    Because you gave it away heartfelt.

  • Nicole

    I don’t generally have memory issues with getting rid of stuff. My problem is the “what if I need it someday.” I do the same thing in the winter, though. I want to go through all the closets and purge!

    Memories are something you’ll have regardless of the things associated with them. šŸ™‚

  • pepperhawk

    LC,

    This is a very poignant account of purging which I also do every year. I look at many things and go through them one by one and it is hard sometimes to let go of things I think I might want to keep.

    In the case of your child’s hat I could never let that go. My child is dead and I regret now all the things I let go of his.

    Keep the hat. And give it to her child at some point. When my son once saw the things of his I kept in my study so I could look at them in memory, he was so delighted I kept them. My grand children are now over joyed when I give them something of their father’s that I kept and that they can cherish his memory.

    That is my 2 cents worth.

  • Lizard

    I have to agree with Pepperhawk. Some things are worth getting rid of but some things like the hat are worth keeping to give to eldest’s child some day.

    I am not Hoarder but have worries because of family history of hoarding. I explained to someone recently part of the reason I watch those hoarder shows is creep myself out from becoming one of them.

