Befitting the Sin

It was cold. She sat in the room, waiting her turn. Looking around in apprehension, she bleakly noticed how even the total whiteness of the room seem to clash with everything. Her eyes roamed, noticing the small details: the crack in the ceiling, the pulled loop in the carpet, even the peeling of the veneer on the bottom of the door.

The same door that would soon open, just for her.

Tensing at the thought, she tried vainly to think of good things, sweet things. She would give anything to be outside in the sun right now, letting the rays warm her again. But she had disobeyed. At first, it was so easy to adhere to the rules. Monotonous, even. But that monotony was the start of her disquiet. The need arose for something else to fill the void and the awful taste of it. One rule broken, just a small rule, just once, led to sneaking, and lying, and to where she sat now: awaiting her punishment. Her shoulders ached from the tension, her teeth chattered from the cold, her hands rubbed almost raw. Stealing a glance at her mother, she wondered what she was thinking. Her mother sat silently, staring straight ahead, her eyes far away, as if she could see through the awful white wall. She was afraid to say anything, afraid to break the spell that kept her mother silent. She would give anything to turn the clock back, to go back to before and to obey the simple rules. It was too late, she knew that. Now she was here, and she had to go through with it.

The clock mocked her, refusing to move its hands faster. She prayed quietly, the fervent litany cut short by voices emanating from beyond the door. She noticed the marks on the doorknob, wondering how they were made, feeling her heart stop as she realized they looked like claw marks. –This is a nightmare–, she thought. –A nightmare of your own making–, said the little voice inside her. –Shut up, Shut Up, SHUT UP!!!–, her mind screamed. She could feel the hot tears behind her eyelids. She heard the knob turning, her fear freezing her mind and her eyes watching the slow turn of the knob, counter-clockwise and grinding in her ears. Her mother stood up, resigned and looking so tired, turning to her and gesturing for her to get up. The time had finally come. She looks up to find a young woman, starched and rather pretty, smiling down at her. She swallows hard, the woman’s words ringing in her ears as she slides past:

“The dentist will see you now, dear.”

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

25 responses to “Befitting the Sin

  • flyoverhere

    relating here….seeing dentist tomorrow

  • Tiberius

    That reminds me – I am overdue for my check up…

  • The Queen

    That made me laugh….. on my email rendition everything but the last sentence showed up…. I thought I was going to have to call you for the ending! Great job!

  • Jay in Ames

    Good one, aggie. And I also need to reschedule a checkup.

  • pepperhawk

    Aggie,

    FOH suggested to come see your story. Oh my word! Can I ever relate to this story. When I was a kid my parents couldn’t afford for my bro and I to have Novocaine, so all of our dental work was done in such pain that it was dreadful just like your story tells. I would sit and pray like crazy that the dentist would not find any cavities because I knew what torture was coming. I recall my brother and I walking to the dentist office which was close to our home and we both would say the rosary together before we got there. Now how bad is that?

    Great story!

  • ArmedGeek

    That was awesome. That is why you rock!

    … and the Sarlacc thing.

  • Aewl

    Very good! I’m still working on mine.

  • Nomstress

    Awesome story! I SO relate to that feeling every time I need to visit the dentist…wonder why dentist-fear is so universal???

    Good timing, too. *sigh* I lost a filling over the weekend! 😛

  • Mrs. AL

    Now that’s an ending! Great read here, LC Aggie Sith! foh recommended stopping by and now I know why she did. Gotta’ run, I have a tooth-ache coming on …

  • New Sithy Challenge | Reluctant Rebel

    […] Aggie has posted her story story over at Sithy Things. This entry was posted in Life and tagged Aggie, challenge, short story, sithy things by Aewl. […]

  • Aewl

    Finished up my short story just now. Click the link to see it.
    http://reluctant-rebel.ontheright.us/nightmarish-morning/

  • Nicole

    Excellent! Well done, madam.

  • mj monaghan

    Nice lead up to the last sentence!

  • Yabu

    I’m a better righter than a writer. I know this…I’m better at math. Here you go.

    Delete it if you want, I just wanted to play…great idea.

    Merced Recibida, Libertad Vendida…

    …is not always true.

    Dominique was dreaming of Simone, and I was dreaming of Dominique.

    Guess who showed up at my door today? That’s right, Simone. Simone has the voice of an angel, and the disposition of a thermonuclear warhead. She is my kind of woman, but arriving on the last day of the year leaves me wondering. She was definitely up to something. Definitely wanted something. More on that later.

    She opened a bottle of Chilean wine; prepared a bath with some Gardenia Juju she’d brought with her, hauled me in, and proceeded to give me pelvic bruises. I love that women, but not like I want Domino.

    It reminded me of the first time I met her, Simone that is.

    She was singing in a bar called No Hope for Fools at the foot of Nevado Ojos del Salado in Chile. Domino and I had a small package we needed to move, undetected, to Argentina, but we needed some help from the indigenous people. There were others looking for us, or it. The crossing is a big hill, and we weren’t exactly sure which route to take. Simone secured some natives to provide our passage, and then shot the emeffer* who set it all up in the forehead. He was a goner, and she saved all of our lives. He would’ve, and had intended to, sell us all out. She loves it when I tell her she saved my ass, and now I’m going to spank hers. She damn near got us all killed. Punishment, I say.

    Once we were safely across the border, we entrusted the British Marines with our lives, and our cargo. They flew us to a ship off the coast, and we set out to the north. One short they were. By that I mean: after we were on the ship, they were one shout less at roll call.

    I don’t know, but I’ve been told…that a young man came onto Simone, and she threw his young ass off the fucking boat.

    She (Simone) will not deny it.

    There is one thing I know for sure: Dominique and Simone do not lie, and I’ve trusted them for so long…I can’t see that changing. I’ve saved their asses a time or two as well, as they have mine.

    And there is one more thing for certain… Simone is blessed with foresight, and more.

    And Much More!!!

    Who receives a gift, sells his liberty…is not always true.

    (*edited due to *ahem* language– Aggie)

  • GuyS

    I wasn’t going to read any of the others until I spit something out (and I have). Great story Aggie! I like the little “twist” at the end.

  • The Sithy Challenge « Jay in Ames

    […] Day The Necromancer: Glances could kill. Love was outlawed. Reluctant Rebel: Nightmarish Morning Sithy Things: Befitting the Sin Snugg Harbor: A Recollection of December Yabu: Merced Recibida, Libertad Vendida Advertisement […]

  • Lemur King

    I thought you were uptight about horror stories. Egads, if this isn’t enough to bring back memories…

  • David

    Sign in dentist’s office: Drill, baby, drill!

