Leaves of Red

It never fails. No matter where we move to, there is always some plant or tree that acts weird in my yard. I had a calla lily that Hubby bought for me when Son was born. I planted that outside our front door, and that thing bloomed like it was on radioactive steroids. I blamed it for giving me false hope about ever growing plants. In Germany, I had dusty millers that grew into bushes, causing my German neighbors to take me to task for letting them get out of hand. In reality, they were supposed to grow to 5 inches in height, not take over the garden. I ended up yanking them out completely. Oh, and foxglove made an appearance in the back garden. My next door neighbor kindly pointed out that it was poisonous. I kindly pointed out that it was a feature, not a bug.

And now, my tree won’t give up its leaves. I thought it was a fluke last year, since it was warm late in autumn here, but no. My tree is the only one that is clinging bitterly to its leaves, even after the windstorm we had last night.

There are other trees in the neighborhood that still have leaves, but not many deciduous ones. Sigh…. my tree can’t even defoliate right….

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

9 responses to “Leaves of Red

  • flyoverhere

    they will eventually fall….

  • LC Aggie Sith

    And I will eventually rake them… 😉

  • LC Steve

    A flamethrower would solve that problem. Just sayin’. 8)

  • Rebel Mope

    I can’t defoliate now, either. Just axe my dermatologist.

  • The Queen

    We have a leaf blower you could borrow… but the fact you have a teenage son should absolve you of all raking duties!

  • B.C.

    Tree: “You can have my leaves when you pry them from my cold, dead fingers twigs.”

  • Yabu

    I have a few (pin) oaks that won’t give ’em up early. I wait to rake, and hope there is a nice loud thunderstorm so I can bust out the 12 ga. and take care of the squirrel nests. My neighbors, and the city, don’t take kindly to shotgun blasts. I loves me a good thunderstorm. Those damn squirrels will eat anything. I left my Radio Flyer in the backyard when I was out of town. Returned home, and they’d eaten all four wheels, and had started working on the bed rims. Totaled.

  • Kelly

    Lots of oak and beech tree species have marcescent leaves. Botanists debate the reasons for it. At least your variety remains colorful. Some turn brown and remain hanging. Some homeowners don’t like the trees because they lose a few leaves all winter long and they feel the need to rake, but I like them. They add color to the winter, especially when snow falls, and they also give an extra early indication of the coming of spring. The leaves will really fall when the tree begins to prepare for the growth of new leaves and, heck, by then it’s almost time to start mowing the lawn again anyway.

