Doing It the Girlie Way

There are some things about me that may surprise some of you. I can’t eat spicy foods, peanut butter and I have a deep hatred for each other, can’t stand driving. Another thing that may come as a surprise is, I entered a college bowl football pool.

Oh yes, I did.

Now, I enjoy college football a lot, but I don’t really know anything about statistics or odds or even players’ positions. It’s a mad scramble for an egg-shaped object that results in rather funny dances at the endzone. So, how did I go about selecting the picks for the pool? The only way I know how: I picked based on colors and mascots.

Now, this is not to say that girls have no clue about football. But I remember when I was young I would pick out a favorite anything by its color. And my girls sometimes do that, too. I call it the girlie way because that’s what it is, and I’m not one for being politically correct.

Besides, currently I am in second place, and only one point away from a tie, so I must be doing something right  😉

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

13 responses to “Doing It the Girlie Way

  • flyoverhere

    I know you aren’t supposed to judge a book by it’s cover….but I have always found that if I don’t like the cover, I don’t like the book. I’m not talking about book jackets because back in my high school days the school library removed them, so it was the color, the font used for the title, etc. Kinda crazy but oh well, that’s the girly way!

  • Hank Scorpio

    People like you drive me nuts because I think I know everything about football yet get my arse kicked on a regular basis in football pools. At the end it’s always someone that made their picks based on the color of the teams helmets that walks away with the cash.

    I hate you….

    ok not really but you make me nuts….

  • Jay in Ames

    Just goes to show you how much luck comes into play with those leagues. I spend SOOO much time watching games, but I hardly ever do well. I think I’m too loyal to teams, and make picks with my heart, rather than my head.

    It’s hard not to do that. But that’s how the really good (and the really lucky ones) do it.

  • QueenBee

    I pick the teams I like and stick with them… no matter how they do. Loyalty has its benefits!

  • singlewhitealcoholicseekssame

    You are officially NOT invited to my Hockey Challenge when playoffs roll around. I don’t think I could handle the shame and embarrassment!

  • Mitchell

    We used to do office pools many years ago…until we were informed by management that “gambling” in the office wasn’t kosher. Yeah, no gambling in Las Vegas. Whatever.

    Off topic, but…Dark Vader Burgers! Dark. Vader. Burgers.

  • SOYLENT GREEN

    OT, but there is new wisdom at NSKMD

  • LC LtC

    So. Ya like orange, yeah?

  • Yabu

    That’s cool with me. I once took my 8 year old niece to Keeneland to see some horses run. I let her pick the horses. She picked by name, like “Chocolate Chip”, “Candy Cane”, etc. Darn if I (she) didn’t win. Won enough to pay for the trip, cover the Juju Woman’s bridesmaid dress for her sisters wedding, and buy all the drinks all day. I cashed my little cutie-pie niece out for 300 bucks. 300 bucks is folding money for an 8 year old. It was a good deal for everyone.

  • nursemyra

    I wouldn’t want to live in a world without peanut butter 😦

