Because It’s So Much Fun to Wait Until the Last Minute

I have a lot to do today. It’s Sunday before Christmas, and though I am almost done with wrapping, I have given up all hope of even going to the post office to mail stuff out. I reconcile myself with the thought that the recipients will be so thrilled to get presents after Christmas so that they can celebrate it again. It’s a weak excuse, but it helps to salve my conscience.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m usually done shopping for Christmas the February before. It’s the boxing up, and addressing, and actually dealing with the post office that’s a big sciatic pain. And having had several bad experiences with damaged items, I am loathe to go. But I will go, once the rush is over.

For now, I have to gather the kidlets and take them to the deserted mall. Afterwards I’ll take myself to the wine cabinet 😉

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

8 responses to “Because It’s So Much Fun to Wait Until the Last Minute

  • Car in

    Pfft – i still have a large amount of my shopping to do.

    I laugh at what you consider “last minute”.

  • Purple Raider

    Where is this deserted mall you speak of?

  • Nomstress

    Well, last night we went to the Alley to see “Santaland Diaries” and tonight Mum has us signed up to go and hear “The Messiah”. She is of the firm belief that your gift must involve an activity. Not complaining, just saying!

    Tell people you are celebrating Kwanza when you mail their present after Christmas. They’ll be so shocked, they’ll forget to complain their present is late! “-P

  • Guy S

    You could always claim to be practicing one of the Eastern Orthodox sects of Christianity….they celebrate Christmas on Jan 7th, due to the difference in their calendar to the Gregorian one, used by most everyone else. Thus avoiding most of the holiday madness altogether!

  • LC Draco

    If you wait til the last minute, it only takes a minute!!!

  • The Queen

    I have 90% of the gifts bought. The ones that had to be mailed are gone but none of the others are wrapped yet…. it will get done!

  • Teresa in Fort Worth, TX

    Did you know that you can have the post office come and pick up packages FROM YOUR HOUSE?!?!?!?!?!?!?

    It’s the greatest thing evah!

    Just order some mailing labels from one of their vendors, set up an account, and you’re in business!

    I haven’t been to the Post Office in a couple of years…..

