ENGLISH!! DO YOU SPEAK IT??

No, I’m not going to quote Samuel L. Jackson in its entirety here. I admit to having a jones when it comes to the English language. I came here not speaking a word of it, and worked hard to learn it. So sometimes I get a bit… frustrated when the kids get sloppy.

Last night at dinner we were discussing family stuff when the subject of my BIL came up. For some reason, Eldest was confused about his role in the Army, and Little One decided to set her straight:

Little One: He just came back from a deployisation!

Me: Deployment!

Little One: That’s what I meant.

Trust me, if it were once in a while it wouldn’t be a big deal. But each kid had an Engrish moment yesterday. It was like the stars colluded with Fate and threw a touchdown homerun. Between using slang and this, I don’t think my ears stand a chance.

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

12 responses to “ENGLISH!! DO YOU SPEAK IT??

  • The Curtal Friar

    Be careful with that…once the kids learn you’re touchy about English grammar, they’ll mess it up on purpose.

    It’s the job of every kid to annoy their parents every now and then.

  • Lizard

    Normally I would be willing to cut a kid a little slack, but your kids are to immersed in military culture so either little one was purposely pushing buttons or just being lazy(much like many or of children growing up),

    What annoys me is the number of children who no longer are able to use proper spelling of words and use the text spelling. Just makes me nutso to know that I had first graders who could spell words recent college grads cannot.

  • John D

    Forcing your kids to learn proper English? Here in NY, that could get you into trouble with Child Protective Services. šŸ˜€

    BTW, I have it on good authority that they DO speak English in What.

  • The Real Dave

    I have a much harder time with those that can’t write it coherently, and have been to school long enough to know better (or maybe not, considering the state of public education). Reading textspeak tends to bring out my inner Charles Manson.

    So, out of nosy curiosity, what language did you speak before learning Engrish? (sorry, couldn’t resist)

  • singlewhitealcoholicseekssame

    I’m practically bilingual, I speak American and a little bit of English.

  • nursemyra

    I speak both Australian and Kiwi

  • Yabu

    Are your kids bilingual?

  • Laura

    Sometimes I will use slang making fun of some people I’m around and then I catch myself speaking that way in a normal conversation and I cringe. Big time.

  • mrfixitou812

    I cringe a lot here in Pittsburgh. Slang doesn’t bother me as much as the Pittsburghese. Transitive verbage is practically nonexistant here, and letters are dropped (or sometimes added) from (to) words when speaking.
    Example 1: The car needs warshed. (yes, they say waRshed)
    Should be: The car needs TO BE washed.
    Example 2: Yinz wanna go dahntahn fer some Arhn City?
    Should be: Do you want to go downtown to get some Iron City?

