Word to Your Mother!

Saturday I took the kids to IHOP, since I was in no mood to cook after an eight hour drive. As usual, there must be music, and Eldest was scrolling through the XM stations when I screeched at her to stop.

Moon Unit Zappa’s Valley Girl was on!!

Like oh my god!

Like, totally!

It’s like so bitchen!

Grody to the max!

Gag me with a spoon!

Like, fer sure….

Totally!

The kids listened to it with deer-caught-in-the-headlights looks and Eldest asked me, “Like, how old is this song?”

And smartipants that I am, I said, “Like, totally thirty years old!”

Sometimes I get the feeling the current generation thinks they invented the words like and totally. They looked surprised to learn that certain idioms they use have been around for decades. Some, like swag, are new to me. That one still confuses me, and drives Son up the wall whenever he hears it. Lately I have seen the terms beast and boss being used. I always thought a beast was a bad thing, or an X-Men character. How little I know, right?

But all that got me to thinking…. what is to stop me from being an etymological trendsetter?? So, I thought about it, and have come up with the coolest phrase evah!!

EPIC ENTROPY!!

I tried it on the kids this morning, and got a blank look for my efforts. But not to worry. It will catch on. Momma always has the last word, and that’s epic entropy πŸ˜‰

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

22 responses to “Word to Your Mother!

