The Countdown Begins

It’s less than a week until Thanksgiving! I am very lucky to have one sister live up the street. We get to co-ordinate large gatherings with family more easily, and thus avoid the headaches associated with one cooking for many.

This year, she will be making the ham, and the neighbor the turkey, leaving me with the sidedishes and one dessert. Now, I tend to be a bit more adventurous when it comes to food, and a bit less traditional, too. I was all jazzed about trying a new recipe I had found for a cranberry chutney, when my sister spoke up:

Sis: A what?

Me: A cranberry chutney. It has pineapples and pecans and a bit of cayenne–

Sis: No.

Me: What do you mean, “No”??

Sis: I mean no fancy stuff. Just get the jelly stuff in a can.

Me:………… what??

Sis: It has to be eaten, so get what regular people like.

Me:………..

Yes, she actually said regular people. But I figured she had a point, microscopic as it was, and let it be. After all, Thanksgiving is a time to be grateful, and I’m very grateful for all I have.

Besides, She didn’t say anything about dessert!! πŸ˜‰

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

20 responses to “The Countdown Begins

  • roamingfirehydrant

    There is the family divide between the regular cranberry jelly and the whole berry jelly. Mom always had to buy two cans.

  • LC LtC

    Is your sister married? 😈

  • Sanyo Soup

    Do both! Get the canned stuff to make your sister happy, but make the chutney and bring that too. πŸ™‚

  • xbradtc

    Cranberry SAUCE. And it should have that perfect can shape while it’s sitting in the serving dish.

  • LC Aggie Sith

    I am going to make both, as Sanyo suggested. That way, when they taste how WONDERFUL my chutney is, they can burn with envy πŸ˜‰

  • The Real Dave

    Another cranberry sauce lover, straight out of the can. Never could stomach cranberry salad.

    We’re going to avoid family this Thanksgiving until after we have our own, then go over for posterity and pie. My SIL is notorious for spending all day in the kitchen and then serving at 9:00 at night, with surprisingly little to show for all of the time spent.

  • Mrs. Who

    Our tradition is to have the cranberry sauce in the can. And it stays in the fridge, getting cold, until after dinner is done and then somebody remembers it. Since I don’t care for it (chutney or ‘regular’) I don’t care…except for the giggles I get when it once again is ‘forgotten’!

    • roamingfirehydrant

      What we always forgot were the rolls. They would be the last thing to go in the oven after the turkey and other side dishes came out. Mom would inevitably forget to set the timer, and well…there was a reason why we referred to them as “burn and serve rolls”.

  • Nomstress

    We are headed to Port Isabel for a Hubby’s-side family reunion. I use the term ‘reunion’ quite loosely here, as I’ve only met his Mom and Grandmother.

    Everything I have cooked lately has FAILED!

    CAN YOU HEAR ME FREAKING OUT YET? πŸ˜› (I really didn’t mean for that to all be in caps, but then decided it’s kind of appropriate.)

    I’d like to come and hide out at your house, please… I’ll eat your delicious sounding chutney with a smile! πŸ˜€

  • LC Aggie Sith

    You can come hide! And I seriously doubt everything you cooked lately has failed πŸ˜›

  • Nicole

    We always used to do the can shaped cranberry jelly. The last few years I have branched out and tried things with fresh berries. They have gone over quite well.

    Recipe for the chutney? I have one but mine doesn’t have pineapple or cayenne!

  • Purple Raider

    No one here likes cranberry jelly or sauce, so we will do without this year.

  • veeshir

    I do “Orphan’s Thanksgiving” every year.

    I buy the stuff in the can, put it on a plate (still in perfect can shape) and nobody eats it. Ever.

    I do an Italian Thanksgiving. There’s so much food leading up to the dinner that very little of the bird and fixins is eaten so everybody concentrates on meat and stuff that is covered with gravy.

    Saying that, the chutney looks good.

  • jam2

    to chutney or not to chutney…
    i like chutney…

    but i have a more pertinent question;

    WT..!?

    elmo is kind of quizzical, cookie monster is already set, oscar is nonplussed as a grouch should always be, the Count.. is… well – UnDead so that explains his demeanor –
    BUTt What THE —- is up with the 2 dudes that had an issue with the nasty virus? You would think that seeing their Pal toes up in front of them would wipe that vapid grin from their visage….
    Happy Pre-TD….

    Oh…
    &
    #Occupy Sesame Street

  • GuyS

    Roamy,

    there was a reason why we referred to them as β€œburn and serve rolls”.

    Classic line right there! We have that same concern with garlic bread. Have you ever had a grocery store issue a restraining order against you, restricting you to no closer than 50 ft to the section of the frozen food department where the garlic bread resides?

    As far as the cranberries go, I like em in sauce form, straight from the can (A real traditionalist here!). But am open to new and different foods. So I would love to try the cranberries with chutney. Good luck in sneaking it by the “food police” on turkey day Aggie.

    BTW, just what DO you have planned for dessert ?

  • LC Aggie Sith

    Dessert will be one cherry pie, two apple pies, and a cranberry cobbler.

    By Hades, I WILL HAVE MY CRANBERRIES!!! πŸ˜€

  • Jay in Ames

    Two words: Pumpkin Cheesecake.

    You’re welcome.

  • Mrs. Who

    I’m trying this recipe for a Cranberry Cake this year:

    http://www.northescambia.com/?p=75389

