Things That Go Bump in the Night

Normally, I am a weighty sleeper. I don’t say “heavy”, because I can be roused with no problem. But I do tend to enjoy my REMs. However, with Hubby deployed, I can’t sleep well. I tend to stay up very late, and get up rather early. So you can imagine that any little noise will wake me up.

Last night, or rather early this morning, I was awakened by a constant rushing noise, like a tap had been left running. GAH!!! I got up, went to investigate, but everything was fine. Of course, then an unholy terror suffused my being: what if a pipe had burst?? With the house shifting it was a possibility in my sleep-deprived mind. So, like a moron, I went to get a towel and began to search for the burst pipe now flooding my walls. I started downstairs where I could hear the noise and ended upstairs where there was none, which was a relief. As I when downstairs I decided to check in the garage, where I found the culprit:

It was going through the rinse cycle….

It’s a good thing I didn’t have my gun on me. 😉

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

15 responses to “Things That Go Bump in the Night

  • Aewl

    What the hell is that? Some kind of hi-tech toilet?

  • Cathy

    Hahaha! I know that sound! I sleep very close to one right now also — until I’m in my new apartment.

  • The Curtal Friar

    Ha ha ha! That reminds me of the video on youtube, where the homeowner kept hearing water running somewhere, but couldn’t figure out the noise was coming from. Eventually, it was discovered that it was the cat, who had learned how to flush the downstairs toilet, and apparently had been doing it many times over during the day while no one was at home. Apparently, the cat loved watching the water spin and swirl as the toilet flushed.

  • The Curtal Friar

    And I could see you trying to explain that to the repairman just why there happened to be a bullethole in the machine.

  • LC LtC

    I bet you were able to get right back to REM, huh?

    Just the idea of a plumbing leak gives me the willies (yeah, there’s a story). Our softener is about 6 feet from my pillow, so I’m well familiar with it’s groaning.

    The bump-in-the-night that gave me the most grief was a series of loud thuds from various parts of the house, especially alarming at night. I used to investigate each noise (with my 45), but never found anything.

    At long last, I heard a big boom and rushed to the window to see a large dove sail away into an oak tree and immediately fall dead, breast burst open. Ah, I see. Kamikazi attack on the window glass.

    Birds and large bugs do it all day long. There are smudges of ‘oh shit’ on east and west facing windows, occasionally a broken mantis on the porch.

    Notices published in Hill country newspapers have gone unheeded. It’s all I can do. Sigh.

  • Laura

    I had a busted pipe last month! Sure did. Woke me up. It sounded like a geyser going. It was 3 in the morning and me with no way to turn the water off! So I called the emergency water company number and told them a pipe had busted in front of my house! HA! When they came out I asked the guy to turn my water off at the meter. He did. Probably because I was in my pajamas. Not that I looked sexy, oh contraire! I looked insane in my oversized tee and boxers and my hair all messed up like an escaped mental patient. He was scared not to.

  • Purple Raider

    Hell, there isn’t a day that goes by without a noise or a hiss, or a rumble in this house.

    I just hope that it doesn’t collapse.

  • Yabu

    Kinda off topic, but I’ve always wanted to shoot a TV. It will happen some day. The Juju Woman told me the next time we need a new TV, I can shoot the old one, and she’ll film it. Damn, I’ve got a great mate.

  • Guy S

    Have had the steady drip, drip, drip, before. In a house out in Oxnard CA. Pipes in the crawlspace/attic sent water into one of the bedrooms. Thank God, I didn’t turn on the light to said room, or it would have been a one way ticket, via the 60cycle boogie, to see St. Peter.

  • Nomstress

    Yabu…Have you ever rolled a bowling ball into a TV? If not, you should. Shooting is good, too, but tends to alarm the neighbors somewhat.

    Aggie…LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL and I will NEVER make water noises in your house…especially when you’re sleeping! I have enough holes in my head already! 😛

  • Mrs. Who

    I never knew what a water softener was till I lived in Illinois for awhile…didn’t know what winter was either until then. Both are scary in their own way.

  • The Real Dave

    I remember years ago my parents having a water softener, and the noise it would often make. Of course, what always freaks me out are noisy furnaces in dark basements. Which is why you’ll hardly ever catch me sleeping in one.

