Tropical Treasure

One of my favorite little critters is the coquí, the national symbol of Puerto Rico. It is one of the cutest tree frogs, or hylas, in the world. They aren’t poisonous, but are very abundant, and because they are so small, they are everywhere.

Their song is a beautiful lullaby after a rain, and at night. It is said that a coquí will not sing outside of Puerto Rico, so here is a taste of nighttime in my tropical home:

Now, what I call a lullaby, others call a cacophony. My brother went to PR to visit for a week, hanging out with my dad. And this was our conversation via text:

Bro: (sends pic of coquí in can)

Me: How adorable!

Bro: No, how effin noisy.

Me: HAHAHAHA!!!

Bro: I feel accomplished for catching two in one night. Dad told me I achieved Hubby status.

Me: (laughs even harder)

Me: (catching my breath) Are they still yapping?

Bro: No, I threw them into the empty lot next door.

Me: (laughs hard enough to choke)

Bro: People that don’t know Puerto Ricans think that they yell because they are mad… but I think it’s just because sustained time on this island is cause for auditory damage.

I suppose it’s all relative. 😉

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

5 responses to “Tropical Treasure

  • Lura

    The only reason I knew about these little critters is because of a rather intense Dora the Explorer exposure during Zane’s period of insistence that all episodes be watched a dozen times or more…..thankfully she has moved past Dora now 🙂

  • Nomstress

    Eleutherodactylus coqui belongs to the Leptodactylidae family, meaning they have toes instead of webbed feet. AKA tree frogs 🙂 I KNEW you wanted a biology lesson here! 😛

    Two of the three coqui singing species in Puerto Rico are extinct and the third is a species of concern, due to deforestation. Only boys sing, to let the girls know how pretty they are and to let the other boys know to step off their territory. Kind of like humans…

    I love herps!!! Wish I was still in Arkansas sometimes! Frogs don’t really care much for the brakish waters of the coastal marshes around here. 😦

  • Mrs. Who

    I love the sound of the creatures of the night. We can hear the frogs and the owls…and the occasional bobcat.

    And the damn dog down the street whose owners are assholes, and leave it out in the freezing cold.

  • Nicole

    I have known 2 cats named Coqui. One was a stray that was adopted while on vacation in Puerto Rico (insane people to pay that much to bring home a stray kitten) and the other was my mom’s. The cat immediately took to the trees when brought home. 🙂

    I love the sound of lil peeper toads.

