Playing Dress Up

Yay!!! Less than a week, and it will be Halloween!! The candy, the lights, the candy, the haunted houses, the candy, the decorated trees, the candy, the little kids dressed up, the candy…. WHAT??

I admit, I like to make my own costumes. I prefer to make my own using stuff I already have. One year I managed to wrap some leftover silver lamΓ© around me, and wore a shiny metal trashcan lid on the back of my head: I went as a spoon. Then there was the time when I took two brown towels, sewed them together, cut out felt letters and ironed then on with no-sew stuff, and went as a bag of M&Ms. And who can forget the time I took a brown sweatshirt, brown sweatpants, and made “wings” and sewed them under the sleeves so I could be a bat??

Good times, good times….

This year, Little One decided she wanted a more blingy, high-maintenance costume. Eldest decided to take a pair of scissors to an old evening dress of mine and do her own thing. Son decided to not dress up. I believe he is the lone sane one among us. I had toyed briefly with the idea of purchasing a costume, but decided to save a bundle few bucks and go with what I have on hand. As I looked in my closet, I came to the realization that either a) I need to divest myself of unnecessary stuff, or b) I’m a throwback to another age. I think it’s “b”. At least, I hope it’s “b”, because I don’t want to get rid of anything. Sigh…

Anyone else dressing up for Halloween?? πŸ˜‰

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

17 responses to “Playing Dress Up

  • Tiberius

    We don’t get Halloween 😦

  • mrfixitou812

    As usual, fixit jr waits till the last second to decide he wants to dress up as something that would require a ton of money and/or the efforts of an entire Hollywood movie company special effects/wardrobe/props department, and then expects mrs fixit to instantaneously produce it out of thin air. I, on the other hand, have worn the same costume for the past 4 years when I take him out to trick or treat… shabby worn clothes, unkempt hair, a crazed look in my eye, a mangles box of corn flakes in one hand, spoon in the other, and milk stained chin… Beware the Cereal Killer!!

  • Nomstress

    While not as original as your ideas, I will be wearing (again) the geisha outfit I made about 14 years ago, while Rat Boy will amble out as “The Dude” complete with bathrobe and slippers (with socks).
    At least I can be sure he doesn’t have a ‘J’ tucked behind his ear to complete the outfit! Homeschooling DOES have its benefits… πŸ˜€

  • The Curtal Friar

    I bought a werewolf head and hairy hands a few years back. When I do wear a costume, I put those items on along with a well-worn pair of jeans, leather work boots, a flannel shirt (unbuttoned), and a t-shirt with the name Jack emblazoned in bold red. Sadly, most people that I have encountered while wearing that costume don’t get why my t-shirt reads Jack. Maybe I’m getting old. Or, like you, Aggie, maybe I’m a throwback to another era. Sheesh.

  • RoboMonkey

    I’m often the only one who wears a costume to work on Halloween, but I don’t let that stop me.

  • Nicole

    Thankfully, the department I am in now is full of large children so I won’t be alone in dressing up on Friday. πŸ™‚ In an office of about 60, we generally get about 5 who dress up. I’m always one. I don’t do funny costumes, though, so I never win the contest. I’m always the Grim Reaper or Baron Samedi or Lady Macbeth… This year – the Masque of the Red Death. πŸ˜›

  • Mrs. Who

    Dress in all pink and then put a little kid’s chair on top of your head…voila…you’re the bubblegum under the chair.

  • Softailrider

    We always try to make 2 costume parties per year. Got quite a few costumes stashed over the years. Original Startrek uniforms, Witch, Wizard, BDUs, etc. Started beehives this year so we have a real beekeeper outfit and the wife got a cute bee outfit.

  • The Real Dave

    Last time I dressed up for Halloween I went to a church trunk-or-treat dressed as a slice of pizza. Became known thereafter in the hallways of church to the youth as Pizza Man.

  • The Curtal Friar

    To The Queen And Aggie:

    Yep, Wolfman Jack, bingo.

    I got really discouraged by how many people didn’t have any clue, even when I told them Wolfman Jack. They just stared at me like I had grown a second head. I mean, come on, I’m not that old, and he’s not that obscure. He was in American Graffiti, for cryin’ out loud!

