Twitterings

I like social media. It helps me to keep up with family. Sometimes, I’m blindsided by some family crisis that someone forgot to tell me. So it’s handy. I don’t play games or answer questions or do causes. My causes and charities are my own. But overall, it can be fun, especially when others talk about their days, and you find that your life is pretty normal after all.

Lately, some changes have prompted friends to try other social media sites, and the birdy one comes up as being the most endorsed.

It’s a challenge to limit what you say to no more than 140 characters. But once you overcome that, it seems pretty easy to be brief. But, I don’t think it’s for me. A friend of mine asked when I was going to get an account. I replied that brevity was the soul of wit….

….and I have no soul… πŸ˜‰

 

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

15 responses to “Twitterings

  • Tiberius

    Oh thank god!

    Please don’t scare me like that – don’t even joke about becoming a twittering imbecile…

  • Mike Jones

    I cancelled my Twitter account…just couldn’t seem to find a way to make it useful to me.

  • B.C.

    Historical Tweets would be a hoot to spoof. I’d post some of ’em here, but it’s a family blog. πŸ˜€

  • Nomstress

    I just don’t get it. I CAN be brief, I just choose not to be, mostly. I tweeted briefly. Followed, then couldn’t figure out how to un-follow. All the inane commentary…uugh…people with NOTHING to say saying it anyhow! LOL

    I’d rather come here and read Sithy Things. πŸ˜€ In full detail.

  • wamk

    I was anti-twitter myself, until a co-worker “made” me try it. I only follow a handful of people, mostly politics related. The thing I like best is the speed in which you get information. I agree the stupid stuff people tweet (I’m at Starbucks!) is a waste of time.

    I follow Paul Ryan, Boehner, Tapper, Byron York, and love that when I am away from my laptop and/or radio, I can see what is happening that I may have missed. Most of the folks I follow only do a few posts a day, and those that post more frequently (Jim Treacher, Iowahawk, Nolte) are generally hilarious, and I look forward to their updates.

    Try it, give it a few weeks, and see what you think..

  • The Queen

    I only have the account to follow 2 or 3 people; CDC during our swine flu issue, our school district, my church…. no famous people I care about that much. Like Nomstress… I don’t want to keep it short!

  • LC LtC

    Wamk, Queenie (sorry for the familiarity), y’all make a good case for Tooter as a source of current intel. I like that, may check it out.

  • SOYLENT GREEN

    “when others talk about their days, and you find that your life is pretty normal after all.”

    Not tweeting with Laura, eh?

  • The Real Dave

    I tried it a couple of years ago as a sort of accessory to my blog, then gave it up. Seems too one-sided to me, like talking to a wall, and all I seemed to attract was Twitter spambots. Besides, I like to be wordy with my inanity, not limited to 140 characters.

  • Kelly Pettit

    Hi! I’m not that big on Twitter either. But since I started using my iPhone I find it more engaging. I almost like the fact that people have to get their point across in 140 words. It they intrigue me and have a link I will read more.

    As a professional musician, I also find it useful for sharing showtime reminders etc with those that choose to follow me.

    That being said, I totally understand how it’s not for everyone. Thanks for the blog!

    • LC Aggie Sith

      Howdy, Kelly!

      I agree. Twitter can be quippy. And for a musician it must be an invaluable tool. But for a stay-at-home mom it’s restricting πŸ˜‰

      Oh, if you have any videos of your music, leave the links and I’ll feature them here at Sithy!! Thanks for stopping by!

