Remembering

My family says I have the best memory. I remember the most obscure, most trivial things. Like the time my sister tricked me into eating mudpies because they were full of minerals and iron. To this day she doesn’t remember that. But my tummy and I sure do.

Tomorrow marks the tenth anniversary of 9/11. I know most people remember what they were doing on that calm Tuesday morning. I remember what I wore (denim shorts and a yellow T-shirt, my hair up in a clip), what I fixed for breakfast (scrambled eggs and toast, and oatmeal for Little One and Hubby), the pot Little One was using for a drum (Calphalon anodized 1 qt.), getting Eldest ready for her second week of first grade, putting her hair in braids and packing her lunch (ham sandwich, carrots, fruit cup, and a juice box), watching Son build his daily Lego masterpiece (Duplo tower). And I remember Hubby calling me from Ft. Bragg to tell me to put the TV on the news.

I remember sitting there, watching the smoldering coming from the World Trade Center, saddened by the thought that some poor guy underestimated his little plane and thinking there would be casualties from this accident. But then the smoke and fire was just too much, and it just didn’t look right. I remember calling my dad at his office in El Paso, and telling him what was going on, and as I watched, I saw a huge airliner hit the other tower, and sadness turned to horror, my voice reflecting it as I relayed the happenings to my dad. My dad, the calmest person I know, instructed me to hang up the phone, and to call Hubby immediately. I was crying, trying to keep it together because two little souls were worried about their momma. And my dad barked at me again, repeating his orders until I could function. I called Hubby and what I heard chilled me.

“We are under attack.”

It wasn’t the words, it was the tone of his voice. I was speaking to a soldier now, not a husband. One who had prepared for war at a very young age, thanks to his father. And one that was ready and willing to go, if and when the time came. He calmly told me to keep the kids occupied, and away from the TV until we knew the extent of the attack. And then he told me he wouldn’t be home for dinner.

Fast forward to yesterday. I overheard a woman speaking to her friend how she just didn’t understand why we don’t move on and not think about 9/11/01 any more. To her, it was just so long ago, and we should just put it behind us. I admit, I was very angry. Forgetting is the first step in repeating, after all. But 9/11 was not “long ago”. Not when you have a gaping hole still seeping in the middle of New York City, one that wounds the Nation’s soul. A gaping hole that keeps being salted by the likes of political correctness.

Remembering gives us hope. Remembering gives us a goal. Remembering honors those who were killed, and those who died to protect us.

Forgetting lets the terrorists win.

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

16 responses to “Remembering

  • BmanIII

    So the lady that thinks we all should forget… did she happen to be wearing a sheet over her head??

  • Pigeonbutt

    beautiful…thanks…and yes, what a memory!!

  • QueenBee

    We will never forget…. such a tragedy has permanently wounded us

  • GrammarCzar

    Hm…last time you wrote about this, I seem to recall you sat your little one down with a bowl of Cheerios and banana, but I could be wrong. 😎

    Nicely done. Thanks.

    Never forgive. Never forget.

  • Calo

    Beautiful, moving post LC. The memories of that atrocity on the 10th anniversary will be ever present in my mind.

    We will NEVER forget.

  • lclobo98

    I too, recall almost everything of what should have been a beautiful September morning. I recall the shock, the denial, the hurt. I recall saying “Welcome to the 21st century, Bin Laden did this, we are now under attack by islam.”

    Now we have been told that islam is not at war with us, that we need to “move on”, to “forget”, to “Make 9/11 a National Day of Service”, instead of a Day of Remembrance.

    I will not do any of the things the morons want me to do. I will remember, I will ask the Lord to give comfort to those who lost someone ten years ago.

    But most of all, I will not forget, I will not forgive.

  • Jay in Ames

    Thanks for sharing your memories, aggie.

    I know the soldier voice, I’ve heard it from my dad. Wakes your butt up, pronto.

  • Nomstress

    I was at work at Whole Foods on lower Greenville. Express line. Didn’t know anything happened until people started coming into the store from work in downtown Dallas, saying they were sent home from the hi-rises in case of further attacks. Watched it all in horrifying detail on CNN as soon as I got home.

    Never thought then I’d be married to a soldier now. I appreciate what they do every day so much more since I understand it.

    No quarter for terrorists. Ever.

  • David

    “Moving on”–to use the vapid parlance of lackwits–is the first step, as you note, in forgetting what happened. Those who forget cannot learn the lessons of even so recent an historical event. And so we have it: Santayana’s Axiom (“Those who fail to learn from history… “) in action, and, of course, third world county’s corollary to Santayana’s Axiom: “In a democracy (‘rule by mob’) those who fail to learn the lessons of history will be in the majority and will compel everyone else to suffer for their ignorance.”

  • mrfixitou812

    The anger, the outrage, and the horror, are as fresh today as they were ten years ago as I watched it all unfold on my tv. It was my day off, at home with a 9 month old jr. Mrs fixit was downtown on a job interview, and called me to ask what was going on, not long before I learned about the patriots that gave thier lives grounding the 4th plane in Shanksville.
    I will never forget, I will never forgive, and I will never submit!

  • JAM2

    someday we may be able to forgive… but not today

  • Ogrrre

    Immediately after the Pearl Harbor attack, Adm. William “Bull” Halsey said, “when this is over, the only place they’ll speak Japanese is in Hell.” That should have been the attitude of every American on 9/11/01, not “well, we deserved it”, of “the little Eichmanns got what they deserved”, or “can’t we all just get along”. Hell, no, we shouldn’t all just get along! The video of the two towers, and especially of those who jumped to keep from being burned to death, should be shown at the beginning of every local and national news program, and the national attitude should be Once This Is Over, The Only Place They’ll Ever Practice Islam Is In Hell, and then send some Hell In A Can to the middle east. Start there and head east until the Religion of Piss begs us not to kill them.

  • FORGER - Racist TEAhadi

    I will forgive the muzz when they have repaid us in their blood a million fold for the blood they spilled that day…

    And not a pico-second before.

