Being Happy

One of my favorite movies is Pollyanna, the story of a girl who always found a reason to be glad. I have always been of the opinion that happiness is all around: one just needs to find the right “fit”. Sometimes I am a grump, I admit, and don’t feel like looking for happiness in anything. Wallowing in misery is something I can do well, too. But it is so time consuming, and in the end no one, and I mean NO ONE is willing to put up with my doldrums, so what’s the use, right?? And that’s where Pollyanna comes in. It does take effort, but I do manage to find something that makes me happy at least once a day. I’m not happy all day, mind you, but I am happy every day.

Always, always, always look for a reason to be glad. I promise, the search is always worth it 🙂

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

8 responses to “Being Happy

  • LC Steve

    Reading your posts here makes me happy. Confused at times, but happy.

  • Julie O'Keefe Yost

    Enjoying these posts, my friend. I subscribe to the find JOY practice as well….and there are days when I have to decide to FAKE it until it really comes true, you know? and it always does! 😉 no one wants to wallow-watch. I choose JOY.

  • QueenBee

    This is why certain people call me Little Miss Sunshine…. I just can’t involve my self in self pity or major drama on a long term basis. Of course, no one is happy all the time… but acting happy is a lot more fun!
    \-/o coffee cheers to you this morning!

  • The Curtal Friar

    Yeah, I agree with ya, Aggie. There’s all kinds of reasons to be happy, and they’re really not hard to find at all. You just have to be willing to look.

    I can’t say I really spend any time being unhappy. Being unhappy depresses me, so I don’t spend much time like that. 😀

    Now, there are lots of things that piss me off and get me really angry, but I don’t spend any time being unhappy about it, LOL.

    Things that bring me a measure of happiness:

    Hiking in the mountains

    Enjoying a nice sunset

    Listening to my son describe all the cool things he’s gonna invent and build in his lifetime

    Young’s Double Chocolate Stout and a fine chocolate bar to go with it

    Going home to find my son will be spending the night away and my wife has some interesting plans on what to do for the evening.

    And lots of other things

  • MCPO Airdale

    Some things in life are bad
    They can really make you mad
    Other things just make you swear and curse.
    When you’re chewing on life’s gristle
    Don’t grumble, give a whistle
    And this’ll help things turn out for the best…

    And…always look on the bright side of life…
    Always look on the light side of life…

