The Stuff of Nightmares

I don’t have nightmares very often. Once or twice I have woken up in tears, and those were bad. I can even remember them vividly. But usually the so-called “nightmares” I have don’t involve death, dismemberment, blood, guts, gore (Al Gore, yes, but that’s a subject for another post), or maiming.

I know…I’m doing it wrong.

No, what I classify as a “nightmare” usually leaves me feeling anxious and overwhelmed, like I’m drowning and can’t get to the surface. This time was no different. I had a bad dream where I was travelling with my family to another country, and was at the airport going through screening, and the TSA agent asks for our ID, which were our Social Security cards, and my son forgot his at home, so Hubby had to go to the Justice of the Peace (I don’t get that either), and get a facsimile for the agent, while the line got longer and longer, and when he returned, the agent used it for HIM, not for son, and I told her she made a mistake, and she yelled, “WE NEVER MAKE MISTAKES!!!”, and a guard came over and took me to a holding cell, and Hubby said he would take the kids on the vacation, and would pick me up afterwards, and the agents then proceeded to tell me why they don’t make mistakes, and all the time they were cutting Eldest’s birthday cake and eating it!!!!

Like this, only with TSA gloves.

I woke up anxious and scared, and the first thing to go through my mind was, “I better not have to go through TSA screening when I go pick up the cake.”

Which on the surface is ridiculous, but scaringly possible. About the TSA checking other places, not about them eating the cake.

Yet.

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

13 responses to “The Stuff of Nightmares

  • Tiberius

    See, this just proves everyone is more messed up than we think 😉

  • LC Draco

    Let THEM eat cake!!!

  • GMLand

    I had that dream before. Was the TSA agent Pamela Anderson and did she want you to spread cake all over her too?!

  • clintbird

    The current Pamela is straaaaaaaange looking. And then there are the “other” issues she’s willing to share with whomever.

  • Nicole

    Is that the cake??? Cuz if it is, that’s awesome.

    My nightmares usually involve being chased in post apocalypse settings. And sometimes there is violence and pain – but I’ve only died once. 🙂 My anxiety dreams happen while I’m awake, that’s just my life. 🙂

    • LC Aggie Sith

      Same shape, different colors, though. Since she is having a paint party, it will be dark buttercream frosting with “paint splatters” all over.

      I do like the spots, though 😀

  • Mitchell

    Nightmares generally fall into a few re-occurring scenarios:
    1. Dying in a car wreck, usually by losing control at high speeds.
    2. Alien invasion and worldwide enslavement
    3. Natural catastrophes like a volcano or meteor strike.

    Just bad dreams usually involve me in a public setting where I discover I’m not entirely dressed.

    Then there are the Night Terrors which thankfully I’ve not had in several years. Those are different from dreams in that I’m actually partially awake when it happens. Usually they involve a menacing presence in the room and I’m completely paralyzed except for my eyes. I can see the figure, hear it, and even feel it like the one time it sat on my bed – I felt the bed move and heard the springs squeak. The longer it stretches on the worse the fear and panic gets and the more I’m straining to move anything. Then the figure got off the bed, walked around to where I could see it again, moved to the door and vanished. Then the spell ended and I could very slowly start moving my arms and legs. Brrrr – VERY disturbing.

    Sweet dreams!

    • JAM2

      Mitchell:
      1) drive slower
      2) Battlefield Earth…. mayhap?
      3)“Despite the amount of suffering, pain, misery, sorrow and travail which can exist in life, the reason for existence is the same reason as one has to play a game—interest, contest, activity and possession. The truth of this assertion is established by an observation of the elements of games and then applying these elements to life itself.” lrh
      4) Showman
      5) seer

  • JAM2

    long lines of starving skeletal masses…… shambling through mud…. endlessly… without hope…. resigned…
    to a stream where a station is set up with stanchions… and guillotines …

    -try to rally-

    fight dammit….
    FIGHT!!!

  • Laura

    I make topsy turvy cakes and I promise there won’t be a TSA agent when you come pick it up. Of course, you’ll have to drive to avoid them.

