Java the Hutt

I used to be a big tea drinker. I mean BIG. It was my beverage of choice every morning. I loved to watch it steep, the liquid turn into an amber nectar that would lift my spirits and recharge and soothe me at the same time.

And then I got pregnant with Eldest. And tea tasted like warm strychnine laced with rat poison. This is NOT an exaggeration. True, I have never tasted either, but from the descriptions I have read in murder mysteries, it came close. I was bereft. I could no longer partake of any kind of tea, not even southern sweet tea. No matter how much sugar I added, and believe me, I added a LOT of sugar, the taste was still acrid. Nothing helped. This went on for about a year and a half, until we returned to the mainland from being stationed in Hawaii. And then I went to my inlaws one Saturday morning, and my MIL fixed me a cup of coffee out of habit. Not wanting to be rude, I decided to drink it, after adding the requisite amounts of half and half and sugar.

ZOMG!!! I could drink it! And I have been a convert ever since.

I can NOT function without a cup in the morning, and usually make sure to drink at least two cups, just to be on the safe side. And though I can now drink the southern sweet iced tea and can drink some other hot teas, I still prefer coffee. I am not a coffee snob by any stretch, but do have my favorites. And no, Starbucks isn’t one of them. I’m sure some of you will be shocked about that. But hey, it’s my blog and I brew what I want to šŸ˜‰

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

20 responses to “Java the Hutt

  • LC Steve

    Coffee. Nectar of the gods.

  • ArmedGeek

    My current regular coffee is Folgers Black Silk. It is a dark coffee that is very flavorful without tasting even a little burned. While its not the best coffee I’ve had, the lower price combined with the flavor makes it a regularly stocked item in my kitchen.

    I generally drink two pots of coffee per day.

  • LC Aggie Sith

    TWO pots?

    Are those 12 cup, or 4 cup??

  • ArmedGeek

    4 cup coffee pots are for pansies!

    My coffee pot is 12 cups, carved out of a single block of stainless steel. It is gasoline powered and has no warning labels. It will spray boiling water at you if you attempt to put flavored coffee in it.

    Actually, its a Mr Coffee with a bunch of settings I don’t understand and a clock that’s always wrong but it beeps at you when the coffee’s ready.

  • mrfixitou812

    I have that picture as a magnet on my toolbox at work. Coffee is truely the nectar of the gods. My wife got me a Keurig brewer 2 Christmas’s ago, and I love it. I prefer the darker roasts, usually going with a French roast. My favorite for the Kuerig though is called Jet Fuel (made by Coffee People), and when I have it, it is always my first cup of the day, as it IS an eye opener. I wouldn’t say I’m a coffee snob though, more of an afficianado. As for Starbucks, with my brewer and the wife’s Magic Bullet mixer, I can make any of the iced coffee drinks I need for a crapload less that I would pay them.

  • Aewl

    I’m going to chime in here with another vote for “coffee is the nectar of gods”.

    I drink 2-3 pots of coffee a day, from when I first wake up until right before bedtime. I’m definitely not a snob about coffee. When out to sea, midwatch coffee was so old, dark and strong, you could almost stand a spoon up in it.

    BTW, if you put anything in coffee, you are just a poofter…. šŸ™‚

  • Around the Web « Reluctant-Rebel

    […] Sithy Things – Coffee! The nectar of the gods. […]

  • Mitchell

    I switch back and forth. Summer is too hot here for hot beverages so I do several large mugs of iced coffee at work in the morning typically.

    Dad has a fancy coffee maker like the keurig where it grinds the beans all by itself every time and it goes into a vacuum insulated carafe.

    Oh, and here’s another nifty coffee related image.

    As for tea, do check out Shang Tea’s website Aggie. They have really good stuff there and their teas are remarkably smoother than typical.

  • Purple Raider

    Maxwell House South Pacific Blend.

    Nothing like it in the world

  • Queen Bee

    I love my Keurig and was disappointed there was not room to pack it for our current road trip! What did I do before I started drinking coffee? I must have been a train wreck!

  • Guy S

    Not a coffee snob here! (And yes, Aewl, I remember midrats coffee, or whatever was still in the urn at the First Class Mess. One sip of that brew would wake you up and make you take notice!!) These days we do the generic blends from the big three (Foldgers, Maxwell House, and Hills Brothers), though we do tend toward the darker/richer blends they offer. We allso look for the cheapest “specialty blend” which offers a cinnamon flavored brew. The last is a special treat when funds allow. Now that the large size of the major blends is going for 8-10 dollars a pop, that may be a while in coming. Still, you can find it on sale for between 6-7 dollars if you look around.

    And I have to admit to having grown accustom to adding flavored creamers to my coffee. Though black works in a pinch.

  • Nomstress

    Yay coffee!!! It gets all my love every morning. Since I got the French press, I’ve cut down to just about 3 large cups in the morning (btw, morning IS a relative term). And yes, I go with the whole bean Starbucks medium roast…mostly because I haven’t found anything I like better in a whole bean. And I ask you, what’s the point of having a grinder that you never use???

    Pioneer Woman has a iced coffee recipe on her site that sounds awesome, and am planning to try it next week, as even in the ‘morning’ it’s just too darned hot for my favorite beverage some days! But I ā¤ an iced latte and have sworn off the drive thru! So I must strive to overcome…sigh. šŸ™‚

  • RoboMonkey

    Last night I saw the midnight showing of Harry Potter. This morning, I’m at work.

    (I was willing to wait until the weekend to see it, but I was outvoted by people who didn’t have to get up early this morning.)

    You’d better believe I’m rocking the caffeine big time.

