Hairy Situations

A few weeks ago I took my son to get his hair cut. This was not only momentous, but timely, since the awards assembly was coming up. It was important that he would be able to see where he was going when accepting his awards. As I was wating for him to be finished, another  hair stylist came in and asked if I needed to be seen. Disclosure: we were at Sports Clips. I smiled and said no, that I was waiting on my son. She smiled and said that if I needed to have my gray taken care of, she could recommend a salon for me.

I was not amused….

Approximation of gray, not of beauty. Scars not included.

I politely said thank you, and left it at that. But after a few weeks, it came to mind that some people are rather presumptive over women’s vanities. True, we get bombarded by Madison Avenue’s version of what a woman should look like and act like. Some advertisers are moving away from the “triathlon-gourmet-supermodel” template, like Dove™ and their Campaign for Real Beauty. And though I admit to dyeing my hair over a decade ago, I have to say, I do love my gray, and embrace it like spun silk, even though it tends to feel like wiry wool. I like to think of them as God’s Highlights, and I know for a fact I earned each and every single one 😉

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

16 responses to “Hairy Situations

