When You’re Smilin’

I smile as often as I can. Not only does it make me feel better, it also counteracts the frown lines that were fostered due to children. It also makes you look younger. Seriously, try it all day, and see!

Anyway, smiling can also be a not-so-good thing. I remember when I was working for Disney™, I used to walk around and ask the “guests” as customers are called, if they were finding everything they needed, if they needed help, or just pleasant chit-chat to cheer them up. One woman just did NOT like it. She took a complaint to the district manager and straight out accused me of stalking her and making her feel like a criminal. Thankfully, the manager knew me well enough to know that was complete road apples on the roadway, and told the woman that I was “in character” and that was part of my job. I always did wonder why the woman felt like I was treating her like a criminal. Usually, saying, “Hope you are finding everything you need, but in case you have a question, let me know!” doesn’t translate to “Are you shoplifting??”

Sunday was a day like that one. I was standing in line to check out of The Lego Store™, when the lady behind me asked what was wrong.

Me: Excuse me?

Lady: Are you feeling alright?

Me: Sure am, why?

Lady: Well, you’re smiling….

Me: Well, smiling is a good thing (smiling wider).

Lady: I thought someone was in trouble.

Me: HA! Wait… you thought I was plotting something?

Lady: Well, that’s how *I* look when I’m thinking of getting back at someone.

Me: ……Uh….no…. Not plotting anything.

I felt pretty bad for that lady. Seemed to me she never smiled for the sake of it, and attributed the act to nefarious doings. Don’t get me wrong. I do smile when I think of getting even with someone who has wronged me or mine. But that’s very rare. Smiling is a very powerful act. It can even break the ice!

But it can also make them wonder what you’re up to ;)

About LC Aggie Sith

Machete-wielding zombie killer when not a stay-at-home mom. View all posts by LC Aggie Sith

19 responses to “When You’re Smilin’

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 174 other followers

